BMO
BANK OF MONTREAL /CAN/BANK OF MONTREAL /CAN/ reported revenue of CAD 36.27B in its most recent fiscal year, up 10.6% on the year before. It kept 24.1% of that as net income, and generated CAD 8.51B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Commercial Banks, NEC.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 10.6% | 11.1% | 10 / 18 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 2.5% | 11.4% | 16 / 17 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 7.6% | 8.8% | 12 / 18 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | 20.3% | 18.7% | 12 / 26 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | -17.0% | 8.5% | 21 / 24 |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | 8.7% | 12.5% | 16 / 21 |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | -66.1% | -5.2% | 13 / 19 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 26.7% | 10.5% | 5 / 16 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | Not reported | — | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | Not reported | — | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 24.1% | 24.3% | 10 / 18 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 23.5% | 21.2% | 6 / 13 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 9.9% | 13.1% | 21 / 31 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 0.6% | 1.0% | 25 / 31 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | Not reported | 33.9% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | CAD 36.27B | CAD 32.80B | CAD 29.26B | CAD 33.71B | CAD 27.19B | CAD 25.19B | CAD 25.48B | CAD 22.91B | CAD 22.11B | CAD 21.09B |
| Net income | CAD 8.72B | CAD 7.33B | CAD 4.44B | CAD 13.54B | CAD 7.75B | CAD 5.10B | CAD 5.76B | CAD 5.45B | CAD 5.34B | CAD 4.63B |
| EPS (diluted) | CAD 11.44 | CAD 9.51 | CAD 5.76 | CAD 19.99 | CAD 11.58 | CAD 7.55 | CAD 8.66 | CAD 8.17 | CAD 7.90 | CAD 6.92 |
| Operating cash flow | CAD 10.24B | CAD 26.70B | CAD 9.59B | CAD 4.96B | CAD 44.05B | CAD 50.84B | CAD 29.30B | CAD 17.91B | CAD 2.91B | -CAD 2.73B |
| Capital expenditure | CAD 1.73B | CAD 1.56B | CAD 885.00M | CAD 777.00M | CAD 484.00M | CAD 399.00M | CAD 478.00M | CAD 330.00M | CAD 301.00M | CAD 224.00M |
| Free cash flow | CAD 8.51B | CAD 25.14B | CAD 8.71B | CAD 4.18B | CAD 43.56B | CAD 50.44B | CAD 28.82B | CAD 17.58B | CAD 2.61B | -CAD 2.95B |
| Total assets | CAD 1.48T | CAD 1.41T | CAD 1.35T | CAD 1.14T | CAD 988.17B | CAD 949.26B | CAD 852.20B | CAD 773.29B | CAD 709.58B | — |
| Shareholder equity | CAD 88.10B | CAD 84.29B | CAD 76.12B | CAD 71.04B | CAD 57.52B | CAD 56.59B | CAD 51.08B | CAD 45.72B | CAD 44.34B | CAD 42.33B |
| Cash | CAD 67.48B | CAD 65.10B | CAD 77.93B | CAD 87.47B | CAD 93.26B | CAD 57.41B | CAD 48.80B | CAD 42.14B | CAD 32.60B | CAD 31.65B |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in CAD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from BANK OF MONTREAL /CAN/’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 40-F filed Dec 4, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.