Lodestar

TVC

Tennessee Valley Authority
NYSEElectric ServicesLatest fiscal year ended Sep 30, 2025

Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Electric Services.

Grades vs. industry

Financial health
C+57/100
Ranked against 39 peers using 4 metrics.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported29.8%—
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported20.3%—
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
Not reported11.8%—
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
Not reported-4.6%—
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported8.1%—
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
2.2%2.3%31 / 55
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported5.2%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported1.39x—
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
0.92x0.81x20 / 55
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
0.71x0.75x32 / 55
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
2.15x2.02x21 / 45
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
4.51x5.22x13 / 39

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue——$12.05B$12.54B$10.50B$10.25B$11.32B$11.23B$10.74B$10.62B
Operating income$2.57B$2.23B$1.69B$2.41B$2.85B$2.71B$2.81B$2.57B$2.73B$2.33B
Net income$1.36B$1.14B$500.00M$1.11B$1.51B$1.35B$1.42B$1.12B$685.00M$1.23B
Operating cash flow$3.32B$3.00B$2.87B$2.95B$3.26B$3.64B$3.72B$3.94B$2.73B$3.04B
Capital expenditure$4.46B$3.28B$2.53B$2.36B$1.96B$1.64B$1.70B$1.76B$2.15B$2.71B
Free cash flow-$1.13B-$278.00M$346.00M$587.00M$1.29B$1.99B$2.02B$2.18B$575.00M$332.00M
Total assets$60.88B$57.70B$51.34B$51.19B$52.46B$52.83B$50.47B$48.67B$50.02B$50.49B
Total debt$23.51B$20.99B$20.27B$20.03B$20.31B$20.89B$22.20B$23.64B$25.25B$25.17B
Cash$1.58B$502.00M$501.00M$500.00M$499.00M$500.00M$299.00M$299.00M$311.00M$310.00M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from Tennessee Valley Authority’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Nov 13, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.