Lodestar

EDU

New Oriental Education & Technology Group Inc.
NYSEServices-Educational ServicesLatest fiscal year ended May 31, 2026

New Oriental Education & Technology Group Inc. reported revenue of $5.66B in its most recent fiscal year, up 15.5% on the year before. It kept 8.4% of that as net income, and generated $780.21M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Services-Educational Services.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C+54/100
Ranked against 14 peers using 5 metrics.
Profitability
B68/100
Ranked against 31 peers using 7 metrics.
Financial health
C50/100
Ranked against 20 peers using 3 metrics.
Dividend coverage
C+50/100
Ranked against 5 peers using 2 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
15.5%4.7%10 / 37
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
23.6%8.4%9 / 34
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
5.8%5.6%15 / 31
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
Not reported13.9%—
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported33.1%—
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported7.3%—
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
19.2%5.4%11 / 23
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
-2.0%24.7%13 / 14

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
54.6%48.6%14 / 31
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
11.4%2.6%10 / 37
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
8.4%3.7%14 / 37
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
13.8%4.0%9 / 35
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
11.9%7.1%13 / 34
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
5.4%4.1%16 / 37
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
21.7%1.5%6 / 31

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported0.22x—
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
1.50x1.67x23 / 37
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
1.47x1.67x22 / 37
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
22973.25x5.98x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
-2.23x-1.12x7 / 20

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 6 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Aug 10, 2026
Zhou Chenggang
Director
Open-market sale56,948$56.83$3.24M
Aug 7, 2026
Zhou Chenggang
Director
Open-market sale13,052$56.32$735.1K
Aug 3, 2026
Zhuge Yue
Director
Open-market sale1,200$59.41$71.3K
Aug 3, 2026
Zhuge Yue
Director
Open-market sale400$60.00$24.0K
Jul 31, 2026
Zhuge Yue
Director
Open-market sale400$59.00$23.6K
Jul 31, 2026
Zhuge Yue
Director
Open-market sale170$58.96$10.0K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2026202520242023202220212020201920182017
Revenue$5.66B$4.90B$4.31B$3.00B$3.11B$4.28B$3.58B$3.10B$2.45B$1.80B
Operating income$643.25M$428.25M$350.43M$190.05M-$982.51M$117.27M$399.00M$305.53M$262.96M$262.15M
Net income$475.17M$371.72M$309.59M$177.34M-$1.19B$334.41M$413.33M$238.06M$296.13M$274.46M
Operating cash flow$1.03B$896.59M$1.12B$971.01M-$1.28B$1.13B$804.46M$805.65M$781.13M$622.69M
Capital expenditure$246.87M$241.94M$249.39M$143.04M$150.74M$429.20M$309.55M$269.14M$214.25M$105.74M
Free cash flow$780.21M$654.65M$873.25M$827.96M-$1.43B$700.89M$494.91M$536.51M$566.87M$516.96M
Total assets$8.79B$7.81B$7.53B$6.39B$6.03B$10.15B$6.56B$4.65B$3.98B$2.92B
Shareholder equity$3.99B$3.66B$3.78B$3.60B$3.71B$4.91B$2.73B$2.36B$1.99B$1.68B
Total debt—————$0.00$117.88M$96.46M——
Cash$1.82B$1.61B$1.39B$1.66B$1.15B$1.61B$915.06M$1.41B$983.32M$641.02M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from New Oriental Education & Technology Group Inc.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Sep 22, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.