DAO
Youdao, Inc.Youdao, Inc. reported revenue of CNY 5.91B in its most recent fiscal year, up 5.0% on the year before. It kept 1.6% of that as net income, and generated CNY 29.59M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Services-Educational Services.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 5.0% | 4.0% | 18 / 39 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 80.0% | 7.3% | 3 / 36 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 18.5% | 4.3% | 4 / 33 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | 28.6% | 13.9% | 7 / 21 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | 33.1% | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | 7.3% | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | Not reported | 5.4% | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | 24.7% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 44.3% | 48.6% | 21 / 33 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 3.7% | 2.6% | 18 / 37 |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 1.6% | 3.7% | 21 / 37 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 0.5% | 4.0% | 22 / 35 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | Not reported | 7.1% | — |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 4.9% | 3.5% | 17 / 39 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | Not reported | 0.9% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | Not reported | 0.22x | — |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 0.59x | 1.71x | 37 / 40 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 0.54x | 1.71x | 37 / 40 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 3.51x | 3.51x | 9 / 17 |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | -3.02x | -1.12x | 5 / 20 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Insider activity
Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 15 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.
| Date | Insider | Transaction | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 9, 2026 | Peng Su Senior Vice President | Open-market sale | 6,750 | — | — |
| Sep 9, 2026 | Wu Yinghui Senior Vice President | Open-market sale | 6,750 | — | — |
| Sep 9, 2026 | Jin Lei president | Open-market sale | 70,047 | — | — |
| Sep 1, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Option exercise(derivative) | 4,012 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Sep 1, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Option exercise | 4,012 | — | — |
| Sep 1, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Open-market sale | 4,012 | — | — |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Option exercise(derivative) | 9,189 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Option exercise(derivative) | 4,000 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Option exercise(derivative) | 3,997 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Open-market sale | 3,997 | — | — |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Option exercise | 9,189 | — | — |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Open-market sale | 9,189 | — | — |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Option exercise | 4,000 | — | — |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Open-market sale | 4,000 | — | — |
| Aug 31, 2026 | Shum Heung Yeung Director | Option exercise | 3,997 | — | — |
A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | CNY 5.91B | CNY 5.63B | CNY 5.39B | CNY 1.01B | CNY 4.02B | CNY 2.53B | CNY 1.21B | CNY 731.60M | CNY 455.75M |
| Gross profit | CNY 2.62B | CNY 2.75B | CNY 2.77B | CNY 2.59B | CNY 1.99B | CNY 1.11B | CNY 335.05M | CNY 216.47M | CNY 161.94M |
| Operating income | CNY 221.31M | CNY 148.82M | -CNY 466.33M | -CNY 774.68M | -CNY 943.25M | -CNY 851.46M | -CNY 459.84M | -CNY 219.14M | -CNY 130.04M |
| Net income | CNY 97.04M | CNY 75.23M | -CNY 550.12M | -CNY 745.88M | -CNY 995.65M | -CNY 1.75B | -CNY 601.50M | -CNY 208.91M | -CNY 133.58M |
| EPS (diluted) | CNY 0.90 | CNY 0.70 | -CNY 4.53 | -CNY 5.88 | -CNY 8.18 | -CNY 15.53 | -CNY 6.68 | -CNY 2.80 | -CNY 2.04 |
| Operating cash flow | CNY 55.19M | -CNY 67.91M | -CNY 438.14M | -CNY 603.12M | -CNY 1.35B | -CNY 321.56M | -CNY 372.27M | -CNY 100.33M | -CNY 87.14M |
| Capital expenditure | CNY 25.59M | CNY 11.79M | CNY 17.85M | CNY 68.66M | CNY 63.48M | CNY 30.77M | CNY 18.08M | CNY 13.69M | CNY 10.63M |
| Free cash flow | CNY 29.59M | -CNY 79.70M | -CNY 456.00M | -CNY 671.78M | -CNY 1.41B | -CNY 352.33M | -CNY 390.35M | -CNY 114.02M | -CNY 97.77M |
| Total assets | CNY 1.98B | CNY 1.81B | CNY 1.67B | CNY 2.28B | CNY 2.63B | CNY 2.07B | CNY 2.09B | CNY 619.62M | — |
| Shareholder equity | -CNY 1.93B | -CNY 2.09B | -CNY 2.17B | -CNY 1.54B | -CNY 808.99M | -CNY 1.41B | CNY 301.03M | -CNY 1.14B | -CNY 958.00M |
| Cash | CNY 439.73M | CNY 592.72M | CNY 454.54M | CNY 783.61M | CNY 322.78M | CNY 609.20M | CNY 173.33M | CNY 41.74M | CNY 39.83M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in CNY, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from Youdao, Inc.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Apr 15, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.