Lodestar

AMP

AMERIPRISE FINANCIAL INC
NYSEInvestment AdviceLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

AMERIPRISE FINANCIAL INC reported revenue of $18.91B in its most recent fiscal year, up 5.5% on the year before. It kept 18.8% of that as net income, and generated $8.16B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Investment Advice.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
B64/100
Ranked against 23 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
B65/100
Ranked against 32 peers using 4 metrics.
Dividend coverage
A86/100
Ranked against 25 peers using 2 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
5.5%7.6%25 / 40
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
9.7%8.5%18 / 38
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
9.6%7.8%16 / 36
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
9.8%6.6%10 / 26
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
9.4%2.9%9 / 24
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
24.4%6.5%3 / 23
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
27.1%12.6%9 / 27
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
24.5%-2.5%7 / 27

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported61.0%—
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported20.1%—
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
18.8%15.5%17 / 41
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
43.2%19.7%6 / 32
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
54.4%14.6%4 / 39
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
1.9%5.6%32 / 43
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported11.1%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
16.7%47.6%5 / 31
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
7.3%38.3%4 / 25
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
Not reported3.5%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
11
since 2009 in this data
Consecutive increases
5 years
through 2017
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
$3.24
fiscal 2017

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 36 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Aug 10, 2026
Brockman Dawn M.
SVP AND CONTROLLER
Open-market sale472$558.93$263.8K
Aug 10, 2026
MELLOH HEATHER J.
EVP AND GENERAL COUNSEL
Withheld for tax469$559.62$262.5K
Aug 10, 2026
MELLOH HEATHER J.
EVP AND GENERAL COUNSEL
Option exercise722$197.87$142.9K
Aug 10, 2026
MELLOH HEATHER J.
EVP AND GENERAL COUNSEL
Option exercise(derivative)722$0.00$0.00
Aug 6, 2026
McGraw Deirdre Davey
EVP Mktg, Strat. & Comms.
Open-market sale2,400$558.28$1.34M
Aug 6, 2026
McGraw Deirdre Davey
EVP Mktg, Strat. & Comms.
Withheld for tax2,191$558.08$1.22M
Aug 6, 2026
McGraw Deirdre Davey
EVP Mktg, Strat. & Comms.
Option exercise1,000$298.09$298.1K
Aug 6, 2026
McGraw Deirdre Davey
EVP Mktg, Strat. & Comms.
Option exercise1,000$197.87$197.9K
Aug 6, 2026
McGraw Deirdre Davey
EVP Mktg, Strat. & Comms.
Option exercise1,000$165.41$165.4K
Aug 6, 2026
McGraw Deirdre Davey
EVP Mktg, Strat. & Comms.
Option exercise(derivative)1,000$0.00$0.00
Aug 6, 2026
McGraw Deirdre Davey
EVP Mktg, Strat. & Comms.
Option exercise(derivative)1,000$0.00$0.00
Aug 6, 2026
McGraw Deirdre Davey
EVP Mktg, Strat. & Comms.
Option exercise(derivative)1,000$0.00$0.00
Jul 28, 2026
CRACCHIOLO JAMES M
CHAIRMAN AND CEO
Withheld for tax34,912$545.83$19.06M
Jul 28, 2026
Berman Walter Stanley
EXECUTIVE VP AND CFO
Withheld for tax23,099$550.81$12.72M
Jul 28, 2026
CRACCHIOLO JAMES M
CHAIRMAN AND CEO
Open-market sale16,120$545.28$8.79M
Jul 28, 2026
CRACCHIOLO JAMES M
CHAIRMAN AND CEO
Option exercise52,932$165.41$8.76M
Jul 28, 2026
Berman Walter Stanley
EXECUTIVE VP AND CFO
Open-market sale10,590$548.92$5.81M
Jul 28, 2026
Berman Walter Stanley
EXECUTIVE VP AND CFO
Option exercise23,206$197.87$4.59M
Jul 28, 2026
Williams William Jerryl
Pres, Wealth Mgmt Advisor Grp
Withheld for tax6,840$538.01$3.68M
Jul 28, 2026
Williams William Jerryl
Pres, Wealth Mgmt Advisor Grp
Open-market sale4,102$538.23$2.21M
Jul 28, 2026
Williams William Jerryl
Pres, Wealth Mgmt Advisor Grp
Option exercise10,948$165.41$1.81M
Jul 28, 2026
Berman Walter Stanley
EXECUTIVE VP AND CFO
Option exercise10,905$165.41$1.80M
Jul 28, 2026
Williams William Jerryl
Pres, Wealth Mgmt Advisor Grp
Open-market sale3,200$540.07$1.73M
Jul 28, 2026
CRACCHIOLO JAMES M
CHAIRMAN AND CEO
Open-market sale1,900$546.67$1.04M
Jul 28, 2026
Williams William Jerryl
Pres, Wealth Mgmt Advisor Grp
Open-market sale908$541.90$492.0K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$18.91B$17.93B$16.10B$14.33B$13.39B$11.96B$13.10B$12.92B$12.18B$11.84B
Net income$3.56B$3.40B$2.56B$3.15B$3.42B$1.53B$1.89B$2.10B$1.48B$1.31B
EPS (diluted)$36.28$33.05$23.71$27.70$28.48$12.20$13.92$14.20$9.44$7.81
Operating cash flow$8.32B$6.59B$4.68B$4.41B$3.33B$4.62B$2.34B$2.60B$1.52B$2.33B
Capital expenditure$162.00M$176.00M$184.00M$182.00M$120.00M$147.00M$143.00M$162.00M$162.00M$92.00M
Free cash flow$8.16B$6.42B$4.50B$4.22B$3.21B$4.48B$2.20B$2.44B$1.36B$2.24B
Total assets$190.90B$181.40B$175.19B$158.85B$177.74B$165.88B$151.83B$137.22B$147.48B$139.82B
Shareholder equity$6.55B$5.23B$4.73B$3.80B$4.84B$6.13B$5.91B$5.59B$6.00B$6.29B
Total debt——————$3.30B———
Cash$11.16B$9.49B$8.62B$8.76B$9.57B$8.90B$6.21B$5.88B$5.14B$2.32B
Dividends per share————————$3.24$2.92

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from AMERIPRISE FINANCIAL INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K/A filed Mar 12, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.