Lodestar

ADP

AUTOMATIC DATA PROCESSING INC
NasdaqServices-Computer Processing & Data PreparationLatest fiscal year ended Jun 30, 2026

AUTOMATIC DATA PROCESSING INC reported revenue of $21.95B in its most recent fiscal year, up 6.7% on the year before. It kept 20.1% of that as net income. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Services-Computer Processing & Data Preparation.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C49/100
Ranked against 14 peers using 6 metrics.
Profitability
B+70/100
Ranked against 49 peers using 4 metrics.
Financial health
F21/100
Ranked against 32 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
6.7%6.7%30 / 59
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
6.8%6.8%30 / 55
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
7.9%8.2%27 / 51
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
9.6%-1.7%13 / 30
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
10.0%9.4%7 / 14
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
12.5%16.7%12 / 19
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
Not reported12.5%—
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported6.9%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
46.4%64.6%33 / 49
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported2.9%—
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
20.1%3.6%11 / 60
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
Not reported11.7%—
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
73.2%7.0%2 / 57
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
7.0%2.9%21 / 62
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported4.3%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.82x0.53x22 / 32
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
1.05x1.99x53 / 62
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
1.05x1.86x53 / 62
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported4.46x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported-1.54x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
59.5%24.6%8 / 10
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
Not reported20.5%—
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
12.4%——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
19
since 2010 in this data
Consecutive increases
18 years
through 2026
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
$6.64
fiscal 2026

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 40 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 9, 2026
Sugla Vishwas
Chief Strategy Officer
Grant or award2,073$0.00$0.00
Sep 9, 2026
Sugla Vishwas
Chief Strategy Officer
Grant or award2,827$0.00$0.00
Sep 3, 2026
DeSilva Joseph
Executive VP
Open-market sale631$282.87$178.5K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale10,591$280.82$2.97M
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale7,724$281.66$2.18M
Sep 2, 2026
DeSilva Joseph
Executive VP
Open-market sale6,512$283.00$1.84M
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale2,898$279.74$810.7K
Sep 2, 2026
D'Ambrosio Christopher
Corp. VP
Open-market sale1,872$283.00$529.8K
Sep 2, 2026
Foskett David
Corp. VP
Open-market sale1,529$283.00$432.7K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale1,483$281.13$416.9K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale1,193$280.96$335.2K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale1,018$281.60$286.7K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale1,018$280.60$285.6K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale786$280.27$220.3K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale760$281.70$214.1K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale700$278.59$195.0K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale610$281.86$171.9K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale559$279.93$156.5K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale256$279.44$71.5K
Sep 2, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Open-market sale214$279.21$59.8K
Sep 1, 2026
Black Maria
President & CEO
Withheld for tax31,215$283.49$8.85M
Sep 1, 2026
Rodriguez Carlos A
Director
Withheld for tax13,472$283.49$3.82M
Sep 1, 2026
Bonarti Michael A
Corporate Vice President
Withheld for tax7,727$283.49$2.19M
Sep 1, 2026
DeSilva Joseph
Executive VP
Withheld for tax7,482$283.49$2.12M
Sep 1, 2026
KUTAM SREENIVASA
Corp VP
Withheld for tax7,329$283.49$2.08M

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2026202520242023202220212020201920182017
Revenue$21.95B$20.56B$19.20B$18.01B$16.50B$15.01B$14.59B$14.11B$13.27B$12.37B
Net income$4.41B$4.08B$3.75B$3.41B$2.95B$2.60B$2.47B$2.29B$1.88B$1.79B
EPS (diluted)$10.94$9.98$9.10$8.21$7.00$6.07$5.70$5.24$4.25$3.97
Operating cash flow$5.44B$4.94B$4.16B$4.21B$3.10B$3.09B$3.03B$2.69B$2.52B$2.13B
Total assets$63.19B$53.37B$54.36B$50.97B$63.07B$48.77B$39.17B$41.89B$38.85B$38.89B
Shareholder equity$6.03B$6.19B$4.55B$3.51B$3.23B$5.67B$5.75B$5.40B$4.74B$3.98B
Total debt$4.97B$3.98B$2.99B$2.99B$2.99B$2.99B$2.00B$2.00B$2.00B$2.01B
Cash$4.23B$3.35B$2.91B$2.08B$1.44B$2.58B$1.91B$1.95B$2.17B$2.78B
Dividends per share$6.64$6.02$5.45$4.79$4.05$3.70$3.52$3.06$2.52$2.24

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from AUTOMATIC DATA PROCESSING INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Aug 5, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.