CNQ
CANADIAN NATURAL RESOURCES LtdCANADIAN NATURAL RESOURCES Ltd reported revenue of CAD 38.76B in its most recent fiscal year, up 8.7% on the year before. It kept 27.9% of that as net income. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 8.7% | 0.6% | 29 / 77 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | -2.9% | -4.0% | 32 / 73 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 18.1% | 16.1% | 32 / 65 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | 81.1% | -20.6% | 6 / 46 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | 2.7% | -28.1% | 5 / 42 |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | Not reported | -12.6% | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | -9.5% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | Not reported | 76.1% | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 11.6% | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 27.9% | 9.6% | 10 / 77 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 5.6% | — |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 24.4% | 7.6% | 7 / 69 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 11.8% | 4.1% | 6 / 77 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | Not reported | 6.8% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.37x | 0.47x | 20 / 52 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 0.95x | 0.97x | 39 / 75 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 0.63x | 0.90x | 54 / 75 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | Not reported | 3.07x | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | 0.84x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | CAD 38.76B | CAD 35.66B | CAD 35.97B | CAD 42.30B | CAD 30.06B | CAD 16.89B | CAD 22.87B | CAD 21.03B | CAD 17.34B | CAD 11.43B |
| Net income | CAD 10.82B | CAD 6.11B | CAD 8.23B | CAD 10.94B | CAD 7.66B | -CAD 435.00M | CAD 5.42B | CAD 2.59B | CAD 2.40B | -CAD 204.00M |
| EPS (diluted) | CAD 5.16 | CAD 2.85 | CAD 3.74 | CAD 4.76 | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c |
| Operating cash flow | CAD 15.11B | CAD 13.39B | CAD 12.35B | CAD 19.39B | CAD 14.48B | CAD 4.71B | CAD 8.83B | CAD 10.12B | CAD 7.26B | CAD 3.45B |
| Capital expenditure | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | CAD 4.17B | CAD 4.57B | CAD 4.15B |
| Free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | CAD 5.95B | CAD 2.69B | -CAD 700.00M |
| Total assets | CAD 91.83B | CAD 85.36B | CAD 75.95B | CAD 76.14B | CAD 76.67B | CAD 75.28B | CAD 78.12B | CAD 71.56B | CAD 73.87B | CAD 58.65B |
| Shareholder equity | CAD 44.37B | CAD 39.47B | CAD 39.83B | CAD 38.17B | CAD 36.95B | CAD 32.38B | CAD 34.99B | CAD 31.97B | CAD 31.65B | CAD 26.27B |
| Total debt | CAD 16.62B | CAD 18.82B | CAD 10.80B | CAD 11.45B | CAD 14.69B | CAD 21.45B | CAD 20.98B | CAD 20.62B | CAD 22.46B | CAD 16.80B |
| Cash | CAD 673.00M | CAD 131.00M | CAD 877.00M | CAD 920.00M | CAD 744.00M | CAD 184.00M | CAD 139.00M | CAD 101.00M | CAD 137.00M | CAD 17.00M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in CAD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from CANADIAN NATURAL RESOURCES Ltd’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 40-F filed Mar 26, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.