Lodestar

BCH

BANK OF CHILE
NYSECommercial Banks, NECLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2024

Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Commercial Banks, NEC.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C41/100
Ranked against 16 peers using 4 metrics.
Profitability
A80/100
Ranked against 8 peers using 3 metrics.
Dividend coverage
F29/100
Ranked against 19 peers using 2 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
Not reported11.1%—
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported11.4%—
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported8.8%—
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
-9.1%18.7%25 / 26
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
5.7%8.5%16 / 24
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported12.5%—
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
116.2%-5.2%5 / 19
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
7.4%10.5%9 / 16

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
Not reported24.3%—
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
Not reported21.2%—
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
19.2%13.1%3 / 31
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
2.4%1.0%3 / 31
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
38.6%33.9%4 / 8

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported0.58x—
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
0.98x0.50x2 / 11
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
-1.95x-3.18x6 / 9

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
65.4%36.3%28 / 30
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
22.2%22.2%10 / 19
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
Not reported6.2%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
6
since 2017 in this data
Consecutive increases
None
most recent year was not an increase
Reductions
4
verified against dollars paid
Latest per share
CLP 3.47
fiscal 2020

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2024202320222021202020192018201720162015
Revenue——CLP 92.00MCLP 103.00M——————
Operating incomeCLP 1.58TCLP 1.70TCLP 1.74TCLP 1.33TCLP 504.85BCLP 771.37BCLP 756.59BCLP 681.93BCLP 671.25BCLP 688.98B
Net incomeCLP 1.25TCLP 1.37TCLP 1.45TCLP 1.06TCLP 401.63BCLP 603.75BCLP 603.63BCLP 572.08BCLP 575.05BCLP 609.90B
EPS (diluted)CLP 12.36CLP 13.60CLP 14.31CLP 10.46CLP 3.98—————
Operating cash flowCLP 3.69TCLP 1.73TCLP 128.61BCLP 3.01T-CLP 2.47TCLP 1.39T-CLP 1.33TCLP 872.56BCLP 162.54B-CLP 1.64T
Capital expenditureCLP 16.35BCLP 24.75BCLP 18.71BCLP 34.19BCLP 28.47BCLP 43.51BCLP 28.07BCLP 23.22BCLP 27.82BCLP 31.48B
Free cash flowCLP 3.68TCLP 1.70TCLP 109.91BCLP 2.97T-CLP 2.50TCLP 1.35T-CLP 1.36TCLP 849.34BCLP 134.72B-CLP 1.67T
Total assetsCLP 52.06TCLP 55.72TCLP 55.11TCLP 51.43TCLP 45.55TCLP 41.01TCLP 35.60TCLP 32.56TCLP 31.36TCLP 31.06T
Shareholder equityCLP 6.50TCLP 6.08TCLP 5.43TCLP 4.82TCLP 4.00TCLP 3.91TCLP 3.67TCLP 3.48TCLP 3.31TCLP 3.18T
Total debt——CLP 1.14TCLP 962.58B——————
CashCLP 3.26TCLP 2.99TCLP 3.15TCLP 4.00TCLP 2.28TCLP 3.11TCLP 1.28TCLP 1.44TCLP 1.66TCLP 1.71T
Dividends per share————CLP 3.47CLP 3.53CLP 3.76CLP 3.50CLP 3.81CLP 3.88

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Amounts are in CLP, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from BANK OF CHILE’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Apr 25, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.