UMC
UNITED MICROELECTRONICS CORPUNITED MICROELECTRONICS CORP reported revenue of TWD 232.30B in its most recent fiscal year, up 4.4% on the year before. It kept 21.0% of that as net income, and generated TWD 5.33B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Semiconductors & Related Devices.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 4.4% | 11.4% | 56 / 87 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 2.9% | -1.6% | 36 / 84 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 9.4% | 8.0% | 36 / 79 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | -18.3% | 4.8% | 30 / 44 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | -2.0% | -11.0% | 14 / 35 |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | 43.4% | 6.1% | 3 / 32 |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | Not reported | 15.6% | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | -49.9% | 1.7% | 40 / 42 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 32.6% | 40.2% | 58 / 88 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 22.2% | 2.1% | 17 / 87 |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 21.0% | 1.0% | 15 / 88 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 2.3% | 6.4% | 51 / 86 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 13.3% | 1.5% | 24 / 86 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 8.7% | 0.5% | 20 / 90 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 16.4% | 1.8% | 18 / 84 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.02x | 0.27x | 8 / 54 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 2.45x | 2.75x | 52 / 90 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 1.99x | 2.14x | 53 / 90 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 29.39x | 3.18x | 12 / 61 |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | -0.65x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Dividend record
What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.
Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.
One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.
Insider activity
Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 5 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.
| Date | Insider | Transaction | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 22, 2026 | LIN JEN-TSUNG Vice President | Open-market sale | 10,000 | $163.00 | $1.63M |
| Sep 17, 2026 | Liu Chitung CFO & SVP | Open-market sale | 400,000 | $145.00 | $58.00M |
| Sep 16, 2026 | Liu Chitung CFO & SVP | Open-market sale | 1,200,000 | $142.33 | $170.80M |
| Sep 7, 2026 | Liu Chitung CFO & SVP | Other | 1,000,000 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Sep 7, 2026 | Liu Chitung CFO & SVP | Other | 1,000,000 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | TWD 232.30B | TWD 222.53B | TWD 278.71B | TWD 213.01B | TWD 176.82B | TWD 148.20B | TWD 151.25B | TWD 149.28B | TWD 147.87B | TWD 144.83B |
| Gross profit | TWD 75.65B | TWD 77.74B | TWD 125.76B | TWD 72.05B | TWD 39.00B | TWD 21.31B | TWD 22.84B | TWD 27.06B | TWD 30.38B | TWD 31.77B |
| Operating income | TWD 51.61B | TWD 57.89B | TWD 104.29B | TWD 51.69B | TWD 21.93B | TWD 4.88B | TWD 5.68B | TWD 6.57B | TWD 6.19B | TWD 10.84B |
| Net income | TWD 48.67B | TWD 60.14B | TWD 90.30B | TWD 50.58B | TWD 20.85B | TWD 4.58B | TWD 3.25B | TWD 6.68B | TWD 4.17B | TWD 12.64B |
| EPS (diluted) | TWD 3.94 | TWD 4.82 | TWD 7.16 | TWD 4.19 | TWD 1.87 | TWD 0.65 | TWD 0.60 | n/c | n/c | n/c |
| Operating cash flow | TWD 93.87B | TWD 86.00B | TWD 145.86B | TWD 90.35B | TWD 65.75B | TWD 54.90B | TWD 50.93B | TWD 52.47B | TWD 46.45B | TWD 59.79B |
| Capital expenditure | TWD 88.54B | TWD 91.47B | TWD 80.13B | TWD 48.03B | TWD 26.35B | TWD 16.52B | TWD 19.59B | TWD 44.24B | TWD 91.56B | TWD 60.50B |
| Free cash flow | TWD 5.33B | -TWD 5.47B | TWD 65.73B | TWD 42.32B | TWD 39.40B | TWD 38.39B | TWD 31.34B | TWD 8.24B | -TWD 45.11B | -TWD 715.91M |
| Total assets | TWD 560.17B | TWD 546.58B | TWD 524.65B | TWD 450.96B | TWD 366.45B | TWD 366.26B | TWD 362.60B | TWD 391.13B | TWD 384.23B | — |
| Shareholder equity | TWD 365.71B | TWD 343.72B | TWD 322.81B | TWD 264.38B | TWD 223.14B | TWD 202.91B | TWD 204.40B | TWD 209.62B | TWD 214.95B | TWD 224.85B |
| Total debt | TWD 8.52B | TWD 13.53B | TWD 0.00 | TWD 1.92B | TWD 11.06B | TWD 12.02B | TWD 13.10B | TWD 25.45B | TWD 20.55B | — |
| Cash | TWD 105.00B | TWD 132.55B | TWD 173.82B | TWD 132.62B | TWD 94.05B | TWD 95.49B | TWD 83.66B | TWD 81.67B | TWD 57.58B | TWD 53.29B |
| Dividends per share | — | TWD 3.00 | TWD 3.60 | — | TWD 1.60 | TWD 0.80 | TWD 0.59 | n/c | n/c | n/c |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in TWD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from UNITED MICROELECTRONICS CORP’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Apr 24, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.