Lodestar

SIM

GRUPO SIMEC, S.A.B. de C.V.
NYSESteel Works, Blast Furnaces & Rolling Mills (Coke Ovens)Latest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2024

GRUPO SIMEC, S.A.B. de C.V. reported revenue of MXN 33.66B in its most recent fiscal year, down 18.2% on the year before. It kept 31.1% of that as net income, and generated MXN 3.42B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Steel Works, Blast Furnaces & Rolling Mills (Coke Ovens).

Grades vs. industry

Growth
D36/100
Ranked against 6 peers using 5 metrics.
Profitability
A88/100
Ranked against 12 peers using 5 metrics.
Financial health
A+96/100
Ranked against 12 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
-18.2%-1.7%12 / 13
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
-15.4%-4.5%12 / 13
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
-0.3%6.9%13 / 13
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
Not reported-18.8%—
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported-27.4%—
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported11.6%—
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
93.2%-8.7%1 / 9
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
-22.4%-27.1%3 / 6

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
22.7%13.5%3 / 12
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported4.5%—
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
31.1%5.3%1 / 13
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
10.2%0.8%3 / 13
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
17.7%5.7%2 / 13
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
14.3%3.3%1 / 13
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported2.1%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.00x0.38x1 / 12
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
4.56x2.34x1 / 13
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
3.46x1.31x1 / 13
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported3.29x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported1.84x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Annual financials

Fiscal year202420232022202120202019201820172016
RevenueMXN 33.66BMXN 41.14BMXN 54.16BMXN 55.62BMXN 35.87BMXN 34.17BMXN 35.68BMXN 28.70BMXN 27.52B
Gross profitMXN 7.62BMXN 10.04BMXN 14.48BMXN 15.65BMXN 6.66BMXN 4.10BMXN 5.11BMXN 4.71BMXN 4.74B
Net incomeMXN 10.48BMXN 4.27BMXN 7.86BMXN 9.45BMXN 2.80B-MXN 1.64BMXN 3.45BMXN 1.89BMXN 4.36B
Operating cash flowMXN 5.55BMXN 4.26BMXN 8.95BMXN 8.39BMXN 3.63BMXN 1.04BMXN 3.22BMXN 3.18BMXN 5.71B
Capital expenditureMXN 2.13BMXN 2.49BMXN 1.70BMXN 1.07BMXN 951.21MMXN 1.27BMXN 1.99BMXN 3.04BMXN 3.10B
Free cash flowMXN 3.42BMXN 1.77BMXN 7.25BMXN 7.32BMXN 2.68B-MXN 228.67MMXN 1.23BMXN 144.85MMXN 2.61B
Total assetsMXN 73.30BMXN 66.79BMXN 67.63BMXN 57.34BMXN 45.50BMXN 44.01BMXN 48.85BMXN 45.98BMXN 41.88B
Shareholder equityMXN 59.24BMXN 49.81BMXN 47.99BMXN 41.80BMXN 33.02BMXN 32.61BMXN 35.51BMXN 34.32BMXN 33.23B
Total debtMXN 6.19MMXN 707.85MMXN 707.85MMXN 521.21MMXN 506.35MMXN 5.70MMXN 5.94MMXN 3.04BMXN 2.36B
CashMXN 29.16BMXN 23.58BMXN 21.55BMXN 15.13BMXN 7.73BMXN 7.45BMXN 6.99BMXN 7.20BMXN 7.54B

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Amounts are in MXN, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from GRUPO SIMEC, S.A.B. de C.V.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed May 15, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.