SID
NATIONAL STEEL CONATIONAL STEEL CO reported revenue of BRL 43.69B in its most recent fiscal year, down 3.9% on the year before. It kept -3.5% of that as net income, and generated BRL 3.16B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Steel Works, Blast Furnaces & Rolling & Finishing Mills.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | -3.9% | 11.0% | 6 / 7 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | -3.0% | -3.0% | 4 / 7 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 11.4% | 8.1% | 2 / 6 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | Not reported | -63.6% | — |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | 9.4% | -21.5% | 1 / 6 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | -35.8% | -33.3% | 4 / 5 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 26.8% | 14.4% | 3 / 7 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 9.8% | 5.4% | 2 / 6 |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | -3.5% | 1.4% | 6 / 7 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 7.2% | 2.9% | 3 / 7 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | -9.9% | 2.6% | 7 / 7 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | -1.5% | 1.7% | 6 / 7 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 6.8% | 4.4% | 2 / 6 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 3.72x | — | — |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | Not reported | 2.63x | — |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | Not reported | 1.42x | — |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 0.59x | 1.03x | 4 / 5 |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | -0.58x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Dividend coverage
Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Dividend payout ratio Dividends paid as a share of net income. | Not reported | 53.0% | — |
Dividend / free cash flow Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test. | 80.3% | 80.3% | 3 / 5 |
Dividend growth (5y) Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years. | 41.1% | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Dividend record
What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.
Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.
One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | BRL 43.69B | BRL 45.44B | BRL 44.36B | BRL 47.91B | BRL 30.06B | BRL 25.44B | BRL 22.97B | BRL 18.52B | BRL 17.15B | BRL 15.26B |
| Gross profit | BRL 11.70B | BRL 11.96B | BRL 13.31B | BRL 22.07B | BRL 10.94B | BRL 8.17B | BRL 6.86B | BRL 4.93B | BRL 4.51B | BRL 3.52B |
| Operating income | BRL 4.27B | BRL 5.19B | BRL 7.64B | BRL 20.54B | BRL 5.71B | BRL 3.54B | BRL 6.95B | BRL 2.98B | BRL 1.95B | BRL 5.05B |
| Net income | -BRL 1.54B | BRL 402.65M | BRL 2.17B | BRL 13.60B | BRL 4.29B | BRL 2.24B | BRL 5.20B | BRL 111.23M | BRL 853.06M | BRL 1.22B |
| EPS (diluted) | -BRL 1.95 | -BRL 0.24 | BRL 1.17 | BRL 8.91 | BRL 2.75 | BRL 1.30 | BRL 3.69 | n/c | n/c | n/c |
| Operating cash flow | BRL 8.65B | BRL 7.29B | BRL 2.04B | BRL 14.79B | BRL 9.58B | BRL 4.87B | BRL 2.21B | BRL 571.85M | BRL 275.92M | BRL 5.07B |
| Capital expenditure | BRL 5.49B | BRL 4.41B | BRL 3.35B | BRL 2.86B | BRL 1.68B | BRL 2.22B | BRL 1.32B | BRL 1.06B | BRL 1.63B | BRL 1.62B |
| Free cash flow | BRL 3.16B | BRL 2.88B | -BRL 1.31B | BRL 11.93B | BRL 7.89B | BRL 2.66B | BRL 891.00M | -BRL 487.63M | -BRL 1.35B | BRL 3.45B |
| Total assets | BRL 103.91B | BRL 91.53B | BRL 85.35B | BRL 79.38B | BRL 63.00B | BRL 50.87B | BRL 47.33B | BRL 45.21B | BRL 44.15B | — |
| Shareholder equity | BRL 15.46B | BRL 19.68B | BRL 21.82B | BRL 23.37B | BRL 11.25B | BRL 11.36B | BRL 10.01B | BRL 8.29B | BRL 7.38B | BRL 7.09B |
| Total debt | BRL 57.56B | BRL 45.47B | BRL 41.44B | BRL 32.75B | BRL 35.37B | BRL 11.78B | BRL 5.02B | BRL 1.53B | BRL 30.44B | — |
| Cash | BRL 23.31B | BRL 16.05B | BRL 11.99B | BRL 16.65B | BRL 9.94B | BRL 1.09B | BRL 2.25B | BRL 3.41B | BRL 4.87B | BRL 7.86B |
| Dividends per share | BRL 1.72 | BRL 1.83 | BRL 1.83 | BRL 1.83 | BRL 0.65 | BRL 0.31 | — | n/c | n/c | n/c |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in BRL, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from NATIONAL STEEL CO’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Apr 30, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.