Lodestar

SHOP

SHOPIFY INC.
NasdaqServices-Prepackaged SoftwareLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

SHOPIFY INC. reported revenue of $11.56B in its most recent fiscal year, up 30.1% on the year before. It kept 10.7% of that as net income, and generated $2.01B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Services-Prepackaged Software.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C+58/100
Ranked against 42 peers using 6 metrics.
Profitability
B65/100
Ranked against 168 peers using 7 metrics.
Financial health
A85/100
Ranked against 94 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
30.1%12.9%30 / 198
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
27.3%11.0%27 / 177
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
31.6%14.9%19 / 162
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
-39.4%10.4%54 / 74
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported20.3%—
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
-18.3%14.2%41 / 42
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
25.7%22.6%53 / 123
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported24.0%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
48.1%70.7%142 / 184
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
12.7%-1.9%45 / 193
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
10.7%-2.0%50 / 194
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
17.4%15.5%84 / 176
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
9.1%-2.4%58 / 186
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
8.1%-1.8%38 / 206
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
10.0%-1.7%43 / 168

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported0.28x—
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
5.96x1.67x18 / 206
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
5.94x1.66x17 / 206
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported-1.01x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
-3.85x-1.36x28 / 94

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$11.56B$8.88B$7.06B$5.60B$4.61B$2.93B$1.58B$1.07B$673.30M$389.33M
Gross profit$5.55B$4.47B$3.52B$2.75B$2.48B$1.54B$865.64M$596.27M$380.25M$209.50M
Operating income$1.47B$1.07B-$1.42B-$822.00M$268.64M$90.15M-$141.15M-$91.92M-$49.16M-$37.16M
Net income$1.23B$2.02B$132.00M-$3.46B$2.91B$319.51M-$124.84M-$64.55M-$39.99M-$35.35M
EPS (diluted)$0.94$1.55$0.10-$2.73$2.29n/cn/cn/cn/cn/c
Operating cash flow$2.03B$1.62B$944.00M-$136.00M$535.71M$424.96M$70.61M$9.32M$7.90M$14.02M
Capital expenditure$26.00M$19.00M$39.00M$50.00M$50.79M$41.73M$56.76M$27.95M$20.04M$23.77M
Free cash flow$2.01B$1.60B$905.00M-$186.00M$484.92M$383.23M$13.86M-$18.63M-$12.14M-$9.76M
Total assets$15.19B$13.92B$11.30B$10.76B$13.34B$7.76B$3.49B$2.25B$1.11B$490.56M
Shareholder equity$13.47B$11.56B$9.07B$8.24B$11.13B$6.40B$3.02B$2.09B$1.00B$410.48M
Cash$1.54B$1.50B$1.41B$1.65B$2.50B$2.70B$649.92M$410.68M$141.68M$84.01M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from SHOPIFY INC.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 11, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.