SHG
SHINHAN FINANCIAL GROUP CO LTDSHINHAN FINANCIAL GROUP CO LTD reported revenue of KRW 74.06T in its most recent fiscal year, up 20.8% on the year before. It kept 6.2% of that as net income, and generated KRW 4.36T of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under National Commercial Banks.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 20.8% | 7.0% | 4 / 34 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | 6.0% | — |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | 6.4% | — |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | 4.9% | 19.2% | 63 / 75 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | 4.9% | 1.6% | 30 / 73 |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | 3.8% | 8.0% | 49 / 67 |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | 1525.3% | 14.5% | 1 / 63 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 4.1% | -2.1% | 25 / 59 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | Not reported | — | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 8.7% | — | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 6.2% | 34.8% | 33 / 34 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 5.9% | 83.6% | 22 / 25 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 7.7% | 9.9% | 65 / 82 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 0.6% | 1.0% | 70 / 82 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 6.6% | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.85x | 0.30x | 50 / 58 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | Not reported | — | — |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | Not reported | — | — |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 0.36x | — | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Dividend coverage
Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Dividend payout ratio Dividends paid as a share of net income. | 27.8% | 36.3% | 21 / 68 |
Dividend / free cash flow Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test. | 29.0% | 33.2% | 23 / 51 |
Dividend growth (5y) Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years. | Not reported | 4.3% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Dividend record
What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.
Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | KRW 74.06T | KRW 61.33T | KRW 58.82T | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Operating income | KRW 6.46T | KRW 6.10T | KRW 5.91T | KRW 5.95T | KRW 4.93T | KRW 5.05T | KRW 4.50T | KRW 3.83T | KRW 3.11T | KRW 2.97T |
| Net income | KRW 4.56T | KRW 4.48T | KRW 4.76T | KRW 4.11T | KRW 3.50T | KRW 3.64T | KRW 3.20T | KRW 2.95T | KRW 2.82T | KRW 2.45T |
| EPS (diluted) | KRW 8441.00 | KRW 8048.00 | KRW 8498.00 | KRW 7308.00 | KRW 6654.00 | KRW 7000.00 | KRW 6579.00 | — | — | — |
| Operating cash flow | KRW 4.63T | KRW 529.85B | KRW 7.19T | KRW 4.20T | -KRW 1.04T | KRW 7.18T | -KRW 6.32T | KRW 1.02T | KRW 3.80T | KRW 2.97T |
| Capital expenditure | KRW 263.84B | KRW 261.44B | KRW 326.55B | KRW 334.87B | KRW 279.65B | KRW 270.39B | KRW 142.93B | KRW 155.19B | KRW 252.08B | KRW 124.84B |
| Free cash flow | KRW 4.36T | KRW 268.40B | KRW 6.86T | KRW 3.87T | -KRW 1.32T | KRW 6.91T | -KRW 6.46T | KRW 866.15B | KRW 3.55T | KRW 2.85T |
| Total assets | KRW 739.76T | KRW 691.80T | KRW 664.43T | KRW 648.15T | KRW 605.23T | KRW 552.42T | KRW 459.60T | KRW 426.31T | KRW 395.68T | — |
| Shareholder equity | KRW 58.82T | KRW 56.32T | KRW 53.42T | KRW 49.54T | KRW 46.36T | KRW 41.93T | KRW 36.65T | KRW 33.70T | KRW 31.74T | KRW 31.81T |
| Total debt | KRW 49.92T | KRW 56.90T | KRW 49.28T | KRW 43.17T | KRW 41.59T | KRW 34.86T | KRW 29.82T | KRW 27.59T | KRW 25.29T | — |
| Cash | KRW 35.25T | KRW 30.42T | KRW 24.41T | KRW 24.59T | KRW 26.86T | KRW 2.58T | KRW 2.62T | KRW 1.79T | KRW 1.81T | KRW 4.61T |
| Dividends per share | — | — | — | — | — | — | KRW 1600.00 | KRW 1450.00 | KRW 1450.00 | — |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in KRW, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from SHINHAN FINANCIAL GROUP CO LTD’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Apr 23, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.