Lodestar

MFG

MIZUHO FINANCIAL GROUP INC
NYSENational Commercial BanksLatest fiscal year ended Mar 31, 2026

MIZUHO FINANCIAL GROUP INC reported revenue of ¥8.79T in its most recent fiscal year, up 7.6% on the year before. It kept 13.2% of that as net income, and generated -¥2.09T of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under National Commercial Banks.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
A84/100
Ranked against 27 peers using 5 metrics.
Profitability
F22/100
Ranked against 25 peers using 4 metrics.
Dividend coverage
B+77/100
Ranked against 58 peers using 2 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
7.6%7.0%15 / 34
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
27.2%6.0%1 / 33
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
20.2%6.4%4 / 27
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
98.7%19.2%7 / 75
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported1.6%—
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
15.2%8.0%9 / 67
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
Not reported14.5%—
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported-2.1%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
13.2%34.8%31 / 34
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
-23.7%83.6%24 / 25
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
10.7%9.9%33 / 82
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
0.4%1.0%75 / 82
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
2.19x0.30x57 / 58
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported——
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
31.8%36.3%27 / 68
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
Not reported33.2%—
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
14.1%4.3%5 / 58

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
10
since 2016 in this data
Consecutive increases
5 years
through 2026
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
¥145.00
fiscal 2026

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 40 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Jul 24, 2026
Kurosawa Tatsuya
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)3,513$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Kanzaki Yuki
Director
Grant or award(derivative)490$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Tezuka Masahiko
Director
Grant or award(derivative)490$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Hihara Shinichiro
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)3,355$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Hihara Shinichiro
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)520$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Kaminoyama Nobuhiro
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)4,445$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Kaminoyama Nobuhiro
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)610$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Yonezawa Takefumi
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)3,858$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Yonezawa Takefumi
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)570$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Ohno Kotaro
Director
Grant or award(derivative)490$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Koyama Takeshi
See Remarks
Other(derivative)881$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Koyama Takeshi
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)500$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Yagi Minako
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)3,858$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Yagi Minako
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)570$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Matsuura Shuji
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)3,680$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Matsuura Shuji
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)610$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Noda Yumiko
Director
Grant or award(derivative)490$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Shiraishi Shiro
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)3,680$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Shiraishi Shiro
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)540$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Uchida Takakazu
Director
Grant or award(derivative)490$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Tsukioka Takashi
Director
Grant or award(derivative)490$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Inomata Naoshi
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)4,445$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Inomata Naoshi
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)790$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Hitomi Makoto
Director
Grant or award(derivative)3,680$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Hitomi Makoto
Director
Grant or award(derivative)1,440$0.00$0.00

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2026202520242023202220212020201920172016
Revenue¥8.79T¥8.17T¥8.51T¥4.28T¥2.11T¥3.50T¥3.46T¥3.43T¥3.37T¥2.88T
Net income¥1.16T¥593.39B¥912.47B-¥14.01B-¥104.72B¥581.76B¥150.19B¥84.47B¥577.61B¥362.44B
EPS (diluted)¥466.09¥234.52¥359.65-¥5.52-¥41.28¥229.26¥59.19¥33.30n/cn/c
Operating cash flow-¥1.78T¥59.04B-¥3.46T¥1.01T¥5.50T¥468.76B-¥4.04T¥661.02B-¥161.08B¥1.21T
Capital expenditure¥307.00B¥338.01B¥256.48B¥185.58B¥136.24B¥211.50B¥243.02B¥157.71B¥292.20B¥430.91B
Free cash flow-¥2.09T-¥278.97B-¥3.72T¥821.33B¥5.36T¥257.26B-¥4.28T¥503.31B-¥453.28B¥778.21B
Total assets¥294.90T¥276.74T¥272.17T¥248.78T¥231.55T¥221.65T¥211.22T¥197.61T¥204.26T¥200.46T
Shareholder equity¥10.86T¥10.07T¥9.93T¥8.92T¥8.91T¥9.11T¥8.51T¥8.73T¥8.87T¥8.26T
Total debt¥23.76T¥20.45T¥19.92T¥18.29T¥20.14T¥20.79T¥15.26T¥13.52T¥14.64T¥16.01T
Cash¥62.61T¥73.44T¥74.11T¥67.99T¥52.17T¥48.73T¥41.95T¥45.67T¥48.17T¥47.59T
Dividends per share¥145.00¥140.00¥105.00¥85.00¥80.00¥75.00¥75.00¥75.00n/cn/c

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Amounts are in JPY, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.

n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from MIZUHO FINANCIAL GROUP INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Jun 26, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.