PDS
PRECISION DRILLING CorpPRECISION DRILLING Corp reported revenue of CAD 1.84B in its most recent fiscal year, down 3.1% on the year before. It kept 0.2% of that as net income, and generated CAD 149.42M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Drilling Oil & Gas Wells.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | -3.1% | 1.0% | 8 / 11 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 4.5% | 15.5% | 10 / 11 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 14.5% | 13.7% | 5 / 10 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | -98.2% | -79.1% | 5 / 7 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | -43.7% | -31.8% | 5 / 6 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 41.4% | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 32.8% | — | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 12.6% | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 0.2% | 0.2% | 6 / 11 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 8.1% | 8.1% | 4 / 7 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 0.2% | 0.2% | 6 / 11 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 0.1% | 0.1% | 6 / 11 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | Not reported | 4.1% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.43x | 0.57x | 4 / 10 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 1.62x | 1.67x | 8 / 11 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 1.46x | 1.56x | 8 / 11 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | Not reported | 0.89x | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | 1.60x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | CAD 1.84B | CAD 1.90B | CAD 1.94B | CAD 1.62B | CAD 986.85M | CAD 935.75M | CAD 1.54B | CAD 1.54B | CAD 1.32B | CAD 1.00B |
| Operating income | — | — | CAD 611.12M | CAD 311.61M | CAD 192.77M | CAD 40.99M | CAD 94.58M | -CAD 198.07M | -CAD 88.08M | -CAD 155.98M |
| Net income | CAD 3.09M | CAD 111.33M | CAD 289.24M | -CAD 34.29M | -CAD 177.39M | -CAD 120.14M | CAD 6.62M | -CAD 294.27M | -CAD 132.04M | -CAD 155.56M |
| EPS (diluted) | CAD 0.14 | CAD 7.81 | CAD 19.53 | -CAD 2.53 | -CAD 13.32 | -CAD 8.76 | CAD 0.45 | -CAD 1.00 | -CAD 0.45 | -CAD 0.53 |
| Operating cash flow | CAD 412.90M | CAD 482.08M | CAD 500.57M | CAD 237.10M | CAD 139.22M | CAD 226.12M | CAD 288.16M | CAD 293.33M | CAD 116.56M | CAD 122.51M |
| Capital expenditure | CAD 263.47M | CAD 216.65M | CAD 224.96M | CAD 184.25M | CAD 75.94M | CAD 61.53M | CAD 159.89M | CAD 114.58M | CAD 74.82M | CAD 203.47M |
| Free cash flow | CAD 149.42M | CAD 265.44M | CAD 275.61M | CAD 52.85M | CAD 63.28M | CAD 164.58M | CAD 128.27M | CAD 178.76M | CAD 41.73M | -CAD 80.96M |
| Total assets | CAD 2.73B | CAD 2.96B | CAD 3.02B | CAD 2.88B | CAD 2.66B | CAD 2.90B | CAD 3.27B | CAD 3.64B | CAD 3.89B | CAD 4.32B |
| Shareholder equity | CAD 1.59B | CAD 1.68B | CAD 1.58B | CAD 1.23B | CAD 1.23B | CAD 1.41B | CAD 1.53B | CAD 1.56B | CAD 1.81B | CAD 1.96B |
| Total debt | CAD 686.85M | CAD 822.34M | CAD 929.05M | CAD 1.10B | CAD 1.13B | CAD 1.24B | CAD 1.43B | CAD 1.71B | CAD 1.73B | CAD 1.91B |
| Cash | CAD 85.78M | CAD 73.77M | CAD 54.18M | CAD 21.59M | CAD 40.59M | CAD 108.77M | CAD 74.70M | CAD 96.63M | CAD 65.08M | CAD 115.70M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in CAD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from PRECISION DRILLING Corp’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 40-F filed Mar 9, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.