Lodestar

BTE

BAYTEX ENERGY CORP.
NYSEDrilling Oil & Gas WellsLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

BAYTEX ENERGY CORP. reported revenue of CAD 1.48B in its most recent fiscal year, down 8.2% on the year before. It kept -40.8% of that as net income. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Drilling Oil & Gas Wells.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
F20/100
Ranked against 7 peers using 4 metrics.
Profitability
F14/100
Ranked against 11 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
-8.2%1.0%9 / 11
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
-14.0%15.5%11 / 11
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
12.8%13.7%6 / 10
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
-369.0%-79.1%7 / 7
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported——
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported——
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
Not reported-31.8%—
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported12.6%—
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
-40.8%0.2%10 / 11
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
Not reported8.1%—
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
-25.3%0.2%10 / 11
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
-18.0%0.1%10 / 11
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported4.1%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported0.57x—
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
3.61x1.67x1 / 11
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
3.61x1.56x1 / 11
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported0.89x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported1.60x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019
RevenueCAD 1.48BCAD 1.61BCAD 2.71BCAD 2.33BCAD 1.53BCAD 811.74MCAD 1.49B
Net income-CAD 603.78MCAD 236.60M-CAD 233.36MCAD 855.61MCAD 1.61B-CAD 2.44B-CAD 12.46M
EPS (diluted)-CAD 0.78CAD 0.29-CAD 0.33CAD 1.52CAD 2.82-CAD 4.35-CAD 0.02
Operating cash flowCAD 1.49BCAD 1.91BCAD 1.30BCAD 1.17BCAD 712.38MCAD 353.10MCAD 834.94M
Total assetsCAD 3.35BCAD 7.76BCAD 7.46BCAD 5.10BCAD 4.83BCAD 3.41BCAD 5.91B
Shareholder equityCAD 2.39BCAD 4.17BCAD 3.83BCAD 3.03BCAD 2.21BCAD 578.21MCAD 2.95B
CashCAD 953.11MCAD 16.61MCAD 55.81MCAD 5.46MCAD 0.00CAD 0.00CAD 5.57M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Amounts are in CAD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from BAYTEX ENERGY CORP.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 40-F filed Mar 5, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.