Lodestar

MTLS

MATERIALISE NV
NasdaqServices-Prepackaged SoftwareLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2024

MATERIALISE NV reported revenue of €266.76M in its most recent fiscal year, up 4.2% on the year before. It kept 5.0% of that as net income, and generated €6.81M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Services-Prepackaged Software.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
D36/100
Ranked against 43 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
C+50/100
Ranked against 166 peers using 7 metrics.
Financial health
B62/100
Ranked against 84 peers using 4 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
4.2%13.3%148 / 197
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
9.1%12.1%112 / 178
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
6.3%16.4%134 / 164
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
109.1%14.0%15 / 83
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
0.0%21.5%40 / 48
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
50.0%13.5%3 / 43
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
-37.7%21.8%121 / 132
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
-27.6%24.3%89 / 92

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
56.5%71.0%129 / 182
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
3.5%-0.0%80 / 194
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
5.0%0.0%83 / 198
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
2.6%16.9%141 / 183
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
5.4%0.5%78 / 184
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
3.4%-0.1%76 / 200
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
4.8%0.4%62 / 166

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.17x0.28x28 / 84
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
1.86x1.68x91 / 200
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
1.86x1.67x87 / 200
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
7.26x0.21x34 / 113
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported-1.43x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2024202320222021202020192018201720162015
Revenue€266.76M€256.13M€232.02M€205.45M€170.45M€196.68M€184.72M€142.57M€114.48M€102.03M
Gross profit€150.83M€145.13M€128.77M€118.17M€94.00M€109.63M€102.42M€79.62M€67.77M€59.07M
Operating income€9.43M€5.62M-€2.87M€12.22M-€4.64M€6.94M€5.16M€392.0K€107.0K-€3.89M
Net income€13.41M€6.70M-€2.15M€13.14M-€7.19M€1.64M€3.03M-€2.12M-€3.02M-€2.86M
EPS (diluted)€0.23€0.11-€0.04€0.23-€0.13€0.03€0.06-€0.04-€0.06-€0.06
Operating cash flow€31.46M€20.16M€22.29M€25.84M€29.98M€28.40M————
Capital expenditure€24.65M€9.23M€21.61M€7.93M€11.03M€13.47M————
Free cash flow€6.81M€10.92M€680.0K€17.91M€18.95M€14.93M————
Total assets€396.34M€396.63M€411.26M€413.41M€325.92M€349.40M€313.23M€234.68M€161.92M€144.14M
Shareholder equity€248.49M€236.59M€228.93M€232.58M€133.18M€142.78M€135.99M€77.05M€79.03M€82.95M
Total debt€41.28M€64.40M€80.98M€99.11M€115.11M€127.94M€106.04M€94.56M€33.81M€21.09M
Cash€102.30M€127.57M€140.87M€196.03M€111.54M€128.90M€115.51M€43.17M€55.91M€50.73M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Amounts are in EUR, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from MATERIALISE NV’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Apr 22, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.