Lodestar

MDGL

MADRIGAL PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.
NasdaqPharmaceutical PreparationsLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

MADRIGAL PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. reported revenue of $958.40M in its most recent fiscal year, up 432.1% on the year before. It kept -30.1% of that as net income, and generated -$190.02M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Pharmaceutical Preparations.

Grades vs. industry

Profitability
C+55/100
Ranked against 156 peers using 6 metrics.
Financial health
C46/100
Ranked against 108 peers using 4 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
432.1%7.4%12 / 219
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported7.6%—
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported7.3%—
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
Not reported-33.3%—
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported4.0%—
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported3.8%—
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
Not reported-7.9%—
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported1.4%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported72.1%—
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
-31.3%-34.2%78 / 163
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
-30.1%-30.0%88 / 173
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
-19.8%-15.3%81 / 156
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
-47.8%-52.3%176 / 368
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
-22.9%-37.6%141 / 419
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
-31.9%-49.3%99 / 257

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.56x0.24x71 / 108
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
4.01x4.17x216 / 419
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
3.77x3.84x214 / 419
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
-13.45x-15.21x77 / 158
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported-1.56x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 27 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale1,539$544.02$837.3K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale1,202$542.60$652.2K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale761$544.83$414.6K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale687$540.59$371.4K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale368$541.64$199.3K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale218$535.94$116.8K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale160$537.62$86.0K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale120$546.38$65.6K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale106$534.06$56.6K
Sep 11, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale60$533.09$32.0K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale1,040$536.11$557.6K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale644$535.27$344.7K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale640$537.17$343.8K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale520$538.30$279.9K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale522$530.23$276.8K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale512$533.09$272.9K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale505$540.19$272.8K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale396$534.20$211.5K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale362$541.65$196.1K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale368$531.99$195.8K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale347$529.27$183.7K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale215$539.03$115.9K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale160$542.55$86.8K
Sep 9, 2026
Sibold William John
President and CEO
Open-market sale131$527.88$69.2K
Aug 17, 2026
Kelley Shannon T
General Counsel
Open-market sale664$514.97$341.9K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$958.40M$180.13M$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00—
Operating income-$300.10M-$497.88M-$380.50M-$293.57M-$242.48M-$206.67M-$94.97M-$40.68M-$32.06M-$25.22M
Net income-$288.28M-$465.89M-$373.63M-$295.35M-$241.85M-$202.24M-$83.95M-$32.81M-$31.15M-$26.39M
EPS (diluted)-$10.15-$17.31-$17.33-$17.23-$14.63-$13.09-$5.45-$2.22-$2.54n/c
Operating cash flow-$189.55M-$455.57M-$324.23M-$224.86M-$183.92M-$157.56M-$41.62M-$25.51M-$22.32M-$17.61M
Capital expenditure$467.0K$1.46M$1.48M$217.0K$209.0K$334.0K$172.0K$22.0K$125.0K$3.0K
Free cash flow-$190.02M-$457.03M-$325.71M-$225.07M-$184.13M-$157.90M-$41.80M-$25.53M-$22.44M-$17.61M
Total assets$1.26B$1.04B$640.55M$362.57M$273.33M$287.00M$442.06M$485.43M$192.31M$41.21M
Shareholder equity$602.69M$754.38M$405.33M$197.39M$196.11M$239.97M$416.56M$476.98M$182.26M$36.41M
Total debt$339.88M$117.57M$115.48M$49.29M$0.00—————
Cash$198.69M$100.02M$99.92M$331.55M$36.27M$54.00M$46.70M$57.38M$148.63M$19.14M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from MADRIGAL PHARMACEUTICALS, INC.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-Q filed Jul 30, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.