Lodestar

KR

KROGER CO
NYSERetail-Grocery StoresLatest fiscal year ended Jan 31, 2026

KROGER CO reported revenue of $147.64B in its most recent fiscal year, up 0.4% on the year before. It kept 0.7% of that as net income, and generated $3.46B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Retail-Grocery Stores.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C41/100
Ranked against 5 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
C+58/100
Ranked against 9 peers using 6 metrics.
Financial health
F28/100
Ranked against 7 peers using 4 metrics.
Dividend coverage
C45/100
Ranked against 6 peers using 2 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
0.4%5.4%9 / 10
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
-0.1%3.6%8 / 9
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
2.2%3.7%8 / 8
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
-58.0%-32.7%4 / 6
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
-20.5%-7.8%4 / 5
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
-14.0%-3.8%4 / 5
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
94.5%-23.4%1 / 7
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
34.5%-5.4%1 / 8

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported28.2%—
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
1.3%1.7%6 / 10
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
0.7%1.3%7 / 10
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
2.3%0.9%2 / 9
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
17.1%10.0%3 / 10
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
2.0%2.6%6 / 10
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
8.7%6.4%4 / 10

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
2.68x0.41x7 / 8
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
0.80x0.99x8 / 10
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
0.80x0.84x6 / 10
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported5.97x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
2.40x-0.18x6 / 7

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
87.1%31.5%5 / 6
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
25.6%31.0%3 / 7
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
14.4%——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
19
since 2009 in this data
Consecutive increases
12 years
through 2025
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
$1.37
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 14 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 25, 2026
Vincent George H.
Executive Vice President
Withheld for tax1,677$58.74$98.5K
Sep 25, 2026
Shaffer Megan N.
Group Vice President
Withheld for tax269$58.74$15.8K
Sep 25, 2026
DEMARTINO EMILEE F.
Executive Vice President
Grant or award12,769$0.00$0.00
Sep 18, 2026
Adcock Mary Ellen
Executive Vice President
Open-market sale37,960$60.73$2.31M
Sep 18, 2026
Adcock Mary Ellen
Executive Vice President
Open-market sale24,095$60.68$1.46M
Sep 18, 2026
Adcock Mary Ellen
Executive Vice President
Option exercise37,960$34.94$1.33M
Sep 18, 2026
Adcock Mary Ellen
Executive Vice President
Open-market sale10,846$60.64$657.7K
Sep 18, 2026
Adcock Mary Ellen
Executive Vice President
Option exercise10,846$38.32$415.6K
Sep 18, 2026
Adcock Mary Ellen
Executive Vice President
Option exercise(derivative)10,846$0.00$0.00
Sep 18, 2026
Adcock Mary Ellen
Executive Vice President
Option exercise(derivative)37,960$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
SARGENT RONALD
Director
Grant or award(derivative)462$57.94$26.8K
Sep 1, 2026
Gates Anne
Director
Grant or award(derivative)188$57.94$10.9K
Sep 1, 2026
Aufreiter Nora A
Director
Grant or award(derivative)73$57.94$4.2K
Sep 1, 2026
Sutton Mark S
Director
Grant or award(derivative)50$57.94$2.9K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2026202520242022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$147.64B$147.12B$150.04B$148.26B$137.89B$132.50B$122.29B$121.85B$123.28B$115.34B
Operating income$1.89B$3.85B$3.10B$4.13B$3.48B$2.78B$2.25B$2.61B$2.61B$3.45B
Net income$1.02B$2.67B$2.16B$2.24B$1.66B$2.58B$1.66B$3.11B$1.91B$1.98B
EPS (diluted)$1.54$3.67$2.96$3.06$2.17$3.27$2.04$3.76$2.09$2.05
Operating cash flow$7.31B$5.79B$6.79B$4.50B$6.19B$6.82B$4.66B$4.16B$3.41B$4.27B
Capital expenditure$3.85B$4.02B$3.90B$3.08B$2.61B$2.87B$3.13B$2.97B$2.81B$3.70B
Free cash flow$3.46B$1.78B$2.88B$1.42B$3.58B$3.95B$1.54B$1.20B$604.00M$573.00M
Total assets$49.95B$52.62B$50.51B$49.62B$49.09B$48.66B$45.26B$38.12B$37.20B$36.51B
Shareholder equity$5.93B$8.29B$11.62B$10.04B$9.45B$9.58B$8.60B$7.89B$6.93B$6.70B
Total debt$15.88B$15.91B$10.19B$11.29B$11.74B$12.41B$13.26B$14.35B$14.79B$13.31B
Cash$3.33B$3.96B$1.88B$1.01B$1.82B$1.69B$399.00M$429.00M$347.00M$322.00M
Dividends per share$1.37$1.25$1.13$0.99$0.81$0.70$0.62$0.55$0.49$0.47

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from KROGER CO’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Mar 31, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.