Lodestar

HFWA

HERITAGE FINANCIAL CORP /WA/
NasdaqSavings Institutions, Not Federally CharteredLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Savings Institutions, Not Federally Chartered.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C+51/100
Ranked against 12 peers using 5 metrics.
Dividend coverage
F29/100
Ranked against 7 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
Not reported——
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported——
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported——
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
58.1%30.4%3 / 14
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
-5.3%12.2%12 / 15
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
8.7%6.8%6 / 12
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
40.4%39.1%7 / 15
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
-1.8%3.6%10 / 15

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
7.3%5.3%9 / 23
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
1.0%0.7%8 / 23
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.02x0.36x1 / 7
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported——
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
48.3%27.7%9 / 11
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
38.1%20.3%10 / 11
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
3.7%3.7%4 / 7

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
15
since 2011 in this data
Consecutive increases
5 years
through 2025
Reductions
3
verified against dollars paid
Latest per share
$0.96
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 6 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 15, 2026
Rivera Frederick B
Director
Open-market sale1,300$28.57$37.1K
Sep 3, 2026
CHARNESKI BRIAN
Director
Open-market sale13,675$29.18$399.1K
Aug 13, 2026
Ray Matthew T.
EVP Chief Lending Officer
Open-market sale3,692$30.10$111.1K
Aug 5, 2026
LYON JEFFREY S
Director
Open-market sale10,000$30.00$300.0K
Aug 5, 2026
Chalfant Tony
EVP Chief Credit Officer
Open-market sale3,234$29.92$96.8K
Jul 30, 2026
Wilson Kelli Ann
EVP Chief Banking Officer
Open-market sale3,778$29.69$112.2K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Net income$67.53M$43.26M$61.76M$81.88M$98.03M$46.57M$67.56M$53.06M$41.79M$38.92M
EPS (diluted)$1.96$1.24$1.75$2.31$2.73$1.29$1.83$1.49$1.39$1.30
Operating cash flow$94.82M$64.48M$109.52M$94.46M$69.53M$70.33M$92.49M$90.41M$73.51M$53.98M
Capital expenditure$9.16M$3.46M$10.38M$4.02M$3.02M$7.00M$13.04M$23.27M$3.06M$6.72M
Free cash flow$85.66M$61.02M$99.15M$90.44M$66.51M$63.33M$79.45M$67.15M$70.45M$47.26M
Total assets$6.97B$7.11B$7.17B$6.98B$7.43B$6.62B$5.55B$5.32B$4.11B$3.88B
Shareholder equity$921.50M$863.53M$853.26M$797.89M$854.43M$820.44M$809.31M$760.72M$508.31M$481.76M
Total debt$20.00M$383.00M$500.00M$0.00——————
Cash$233.09M$117.10M$224.97M$103.59M$1.72B$743.32M$228.57M$161.91M$103.02M$103.75M
Dividends per share$0.96$0.92$0.88$0.84$0.81$0.80$0.84$0.72$0.61$0.72

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from HERITAGE FINANCIAL CORP /WA/’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 27, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.