Lodestar

GL

GLOBE LIFE INC.
NYSELife InsuranceLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

GLOBE LIFE INC. reported revenue of $5.99B in its most recent fiscal year, up 3.7% on the year before. It kept 19.4% of that as net income, and generated $1.25B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Life Insurance.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C+56/100
Ranked against 5 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
A84/100
Ranked against 5 peers using 4 metrics.
Dividend coverage
B65/100
Ranked against 5 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
3.7%6.6%12 / 19
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
4.7%4.7%10 / 19
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
4.8%1.4%6 / 18
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
17.8%8.1%6 / 15
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
15.9%7.9%4 / 11
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
15.6%11.3%4 / 10
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
-5.8%1.8%4 / 6
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
-3.5%-3.5%3 / 5

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
19.4%6.4%4 / 19
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
20.9%15.4%2 / 5
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
19.4%10.6%2 / 20
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
3.8%0.5%2 / 20
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.44x0.38x12 / 17
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported——
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
7.4%27.6%2 / 15
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
6.9%6.9%3 / 5
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
7.6%6.3%5 / 10

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
19
since 2009 in this data
Consecutive increases
13 years
through 2025
Reductions
1
verified against dollars paid
Latest per share
$1.08
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 32 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 22, 2026
Hensley Robert Edward
EVP & Chief Investment Officer
Open-market sale6,656$170.34$1.13M
Sep 22, 2026
Hensley Robert Edward
EVP & Chief Investment Officer
Option exercise10,000$103.23$1.03M
Sep 22, 2026
Hensley Robert Edward
EVP & Chief Investment Officer
Open-market sale3,344$169.53$566.9K
Sep 22, 2026
Hensley Robert Edward
EVP & Chief Investment Officer
Option exercise(derivative)10,000$0.00$0.00
Aug 7, 2026
MITCHELL ROBERT BRIAN
EVP, General Counsel and CRO
Option exercise23,000$103.23$2.37M
Aug 7, 2026
MITCHELL ROBERT BRIAN
EVP, General Counsel and CRO
Open-market sale11,454$182.77$2.09M
Aug 7, 2026
MITCHELL ROBERT BRIAN
EVP, General Counsel and CRO
Open-market sale10,529$183.83$1.94M
Aug 7, 2026
MITCHELL ROBERT BRIAN
EVP, General Counsel and CRO
Open-market sale1,017$184.75$187.9K
Aug 7, 2026
MITCHELL ROBERT BRIAN
EVP, General Counsel and CRO
Option exercise(derivative)23,000$0.00$0.00
Jul 31, 2026
Darden James Matthew
Co-Chairman & CEO
Open-market sale49,600$182.43$9.05M
Jul 31, 2026
Darden James Matthew
Co-Chairman & CEO
Option exercise50,000$98.32$4.92M
Jul 31, 2026
Darden James Matthew
Co-Chairman & CEO
Open-market sale400$183.36$73.3K
Jul 31, 2026
Darden James Matthew
Co-Chairman & CEO
Option exercise(derivative)50,000$0.00$0.00
Jul 30, 2026
Kalmbach Thomas Peter
EVP & CFO
Open-market sale10,720$179.30$1.92M
Jul 30, 2026
Kalmbach Thomas Peter
EVP & CFO
Option exercise11,000$120.49$1.33M
Jul 30, 2026
Kalmbach Thomas Peter
EVP & CFO
Option exercise10,000$103.23$1.03M
Jul 30, 2026
Kalmbach Thomas Peter
EVP & CFO
Open-market sale4,840$180.08$871.6K
Jul 30, 2026
Kalmbach Thomas Peter
EVP & CFO
Open-market sale2,790$181.81$507.3K
Jul 30, 2026
Kalmbach Thomas Peter
EVP & CFO
Open-market sale2,650$181.23$480.3K
Jul 30, 2026
Kalmbach Thomas Peter
EVP & CFO
Option exercise(derivative)11,000$0.00$0.00
Jul 30, 2026
Kalmbach Thomas Peter
EVP & CFO
Option exercise(derivative)10,000$0.00$0.00
Jul 29, 2026
MAJORS MICHAEL CLAY
EVP - Chief Strategy Officer
Open-market sale33,500$178.56$5.98M
Jul 29, 2026
MAJORS MICHAEL CLAY
EVP - Chief Strategy Officer
Option exercise37,000$103.23$3.82M
Jul 29, 2026
MAJORS MICHAEL CLAY
EVP - Chief Strategy Officer
Open-market sale3,500$179.35$627.7K
Jul 29, 2026
MAJORS MICHAEL CLAY
EVP - Chief Strategy Officer
Option exercise(derivative)37,000$0.00$0.00

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$5.99B$5.78B$5.45B$5.23B$5.11B$4.74B$4.53B$4.30B$4.16B$3.93B
Gross profit——$1.26B$1.18B$1.22B$901.05M$910.66M$865.48M$807.04M$782.92M
Operating income——$1.27B$1.19B$1.23B$905.36M$920.06M$870.64M$821.16M$787.27M
Net income$1.16B$1.07B$970.75M$894.39M$1.03B$731.77M$760.79M$701.47M$1.45B$549.78M
EPS (diluted)$14.07$11.94$10.07$9.04$9.99$6.82$6.83$6.09$12.22$4.49
Operating cash flow$1.40B$1.40B$1.48B$1.42B$1.44B$1.48B$1.36B$1.28B$1.43B$1.40B
Capital expenditure$142.48M$71.05M$49.55M$27.93M$38.24M$41.76M$42.20M$45.09M$20.29M$25.16M
Free cash flow$1.25B$1.33B$1.43B$1.39B$1.40B$1.43B$1.32B$1.23B$1.41B$1.37B
Total assets$30.81B$29.08B$28.05B$25.99B$29.77B$29.05B$25.98B$23.10B$23.47B$21.44B
Shareholder equity$5.97B$5.31B$4.49B$3.95B$2.00B$8.77B$7.29B$5.42B$6.23B$4.57B
Total debt$2.63B$2.74B$2.12B$2.08B$2.03B$1.92B$1.65B$1.67B$1.46B$1.40B
Cash$144.70M$165.32M$103.16M$92.56M$92.16M$94.85M$75.93M$121.03M$118.56M$76.16M
Dividends per share$1.08$0.96$0.90$0.83$0.79$0.75$0.69$0.64$0.60$0.56

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from GLOBE LIFE INC.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 25, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.