FFIN
FIRST FINANCIAL BANKSHARES INCFigures below are compared against other companies classified under State Commercial Banks.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | Not reported | 5.9% | — |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | 6.1% | — |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | 5.5% | — |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | 13.5% | 15.3% | 80 / 145 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | 2.6% | 0.0% | 55 / 139 |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | 4.5% | 8.0% | 85 / 133 |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | -2.4% | 11.0% | 82 / 127 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | -2.5% | -4.1% | 57 / 125 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | Not reported | — | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | Not reported | — | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 123.1% | — |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 146.5% | — |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 13.2% | 9.6% | 22 / 158 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 1.6% | 1.0% | 14 / 158 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | Not reported | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.01x | 0.19x | 13 / 91 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | Not reported | — | — |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | Not reported | — | — |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | Not reported | — | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Dividend coverage
Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Dividend payout ratio Dividends paid as a share of net income. | 41.8% | 30.9% | 99 / 135 |
Dividend / free cash flow Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test. | 37.1% | 27.2% | 85 / 122 |
Dividend growth (5y) Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years. | 8.0% | 6.2% | 47 / 120 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Dividend record
What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.
Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.
One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.
Insider activity
Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. 1 of the last 40 reported transactions were open-market purchases; the rest are mostly sales and compensation.
| Date | Insider | Transaction | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 9, 2026 | Longhofer T. Luke EVP - Chief Credit Officer | Gift | 950 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Sep 8, 2026 | Longhofer T. Luke EVP - Chief Credit Officer | Option exercise(derivative) | 1,500 | $21.18 | $31.8K |
| Sep 8, 2026 | Longhofer T. Luke EVP - Chief Credit Officer | Option exercise | 1,500 | $21.18 | $31.8K |
| Sep 8, 2026 | Longhofer T. Luke EVP - Chief Credit Officer | Option exercise | 800 | $29.70 | $23.8K |
| Sep 8, 2026 | Longhofer T. Luke EVP - Chief Credit Officer | Option exercise(derivative) | 800 | $29.70 | $23.8K |
| Aug 18, 2026 | Denny Michael B. Director | Open-market purchase | 3,000 | $34.66 | $104.0K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Butler Ronald David II EVP/CAO | Open-market sale | 15,000 | $34.95 | $524.3K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Butler Ronald David II EVP/CAO | Option exercise | 5,000 | $21.18 | $105.9K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Butler Ronald David II EVP/CAO | Option exercise(derivative) | 5,000 | $21.18 | $105.9K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Biebighauser Lon A. Trust Company President | Gift | 570 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 16, 2026 | McVey J. Kyle EVP, CFO - Bank | Withheld for tax | 120 | $35.28 | $4.2K |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Ruzicka John James Jr EVP, Chief Banking Ops Officer | Returned to company | 526 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Ruzicka John James Jr EVP, Chief Banking Ops Officer | Grant or award(derivative) | 526 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Bailey David William President and CEO | Returned to company | 639 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Bailey David William President and CEO | Grant or award(derivative) | 639 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Hickox Michelle S EVP/CFO | Grant or award(derivative) | 1,354 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Butler Ronald David II EVP/CAO | Returned to company | 1,354 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Butler Ronald David II EVP/CAO | Grant or award(derivative) | 1,354 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Hickox Michelle S EVP/CFO | Returned to company | 1,354 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Roewe Randall Allen EVP, Chief Risk Officer | Returned to company | 564 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Roewe Randall Allen EVP, Chief Risk Officer | Grant or award(derivative) | 564 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Longhofer T. Luke EVP - Chief Credit Officer | Returned to company | 714 | — | — |
| Aug 16, 2026 | Longhofer T. Luke EVP - Chief Credit Officer | Grant or award(derivative) | 714 | — | — |
| Aug 14, 2026 | Bailey David William President and CEO | Grant or award(derivative) | 14,737 | $35.28 | $519.9K |
| Aug 14, 2026 | Longhofer T. Luke EVP - Chief Credit Officer | Grant or award(derivative) | 5,684 | $35.28 | $200.5K |
A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net income | $253.58M | $223.51M | $198.98M | $234.47M | $227.56M | $202.03M | $164.81M | $150.64M | $120.37M | $104.77M |
| EPS (diluted) | $1.77 | $1.56 | $1.39 | $1.64 | $1.59 | $1.42 | $1.21 | $1.11 | $0.91 | n/c |
| Operating cash flow | $299.44M | $309.64M | $284.82M | $324.27M | $355.15M | $210.67M | $202.45M | $186.35M | $190.27M | $160.74M |
| Capital expenditure | $13.44M | $16.72M | $17.25M | $15.78M | $19.20M | $16.45M | $8.67M | $17.65M | $14.16M | $20.40M |
| Free cash flow | $286.01M | $292.92M | $267.57M | $308.49M | $335.95M | $194.22M | $193.78M | $168.70M | $176.11M | $140.34M |
| Total assets | $15.45B | $13.98B | $13.11B | $12.97B | $13.10B | $10.90B | $8.26B | $7.73B | $7.25B | $6.81B |
| Shareholder equity | $1.92B | $1.61B | $1.50B | $1.27B | $1.76B | $1.68B | $1.23B | $1.05B | $922.77M | $837.88M |
| Total debt | $21.68M | $135.60M | $22.15M | $23.68M | $671.15M | $430.09M | $381.36M | $468.71M | $331.00M | $445.77M |
| Cash | $1.08B | $763.41M | $536.59M | $330.68M | $528.59M | $729.08M | $231.53M | $207.84M | $209.58M | $204.78M |
| Dividends per share | $0.75 | $0.72 | $0.71 | $0.66 | $0.58 | $0.51 | $0.47 | — | $0.75 | n/c |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from FIRST FINANCIAL BANKSHARES INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 25, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.