EC
ECOPETROL S.A.ECOPETROL S.A. reported revenue of COP 133.33T in its most recent fiscal year, down 6.9% on the year before. It kept 13.9% of that as net income, and generated COP 35.61T of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | -6.9% | 0.1% | 55 / 80 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 13.2% | -4.1% | 11 / 74 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 13.3% | 15.8% | 36 / 66 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | -34.3% | -20.6% | 27 / 46 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | -4.0% | -28.1% | 8 / 42 |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | 0.1% | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | 240.7% | -12.6% | 2 / 19 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 29.4% | -9.5% | 1 / 16 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 35.1% | 77.4% | 18 / 21 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 28.8% | 11.6% | 19 / 61 |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 13.9% | 9.6% | 30 / 77 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 26.7% | 5.6% | 3 / 29 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 17.5% | 6.6% | 11 / 73 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 6.2% | 3.7% | 23 / 82 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 10.9% | 5.6% | 17 / 60 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 1.13x | 0.47x | 50 / 56 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 1.53x | 0.96x | 24 / 80 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 1.28x | 0.88x | 25 / 80 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 3.73x | 2.72x | 20 / 48 |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | 0.84x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Dividend coverage
Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Dividend payout ratio Dividends paid as a share of net income. | 84.1% | 39.8% | 26 / 34 |
Dividend / free cash flow Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test. | 43.7% | 34.3% | 9 / 12 |
Dividend growth (5y) Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years. | Not reported | 21.6% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Dividend record
What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.
Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | COP 133.33T | COP 143.19T | COP 159.61T | COP 91.88T | COP 50.22T | COP 71.49T | COP 68.60T | COP 55.95T | COP 48.49T | COP 52.35T |
| Gross profit | COP 46.85T | COP 55.01T | COP 70.15T | COP 36.30T | COP 12.66T | COP 26.52T | COP 27.42T | COP 19.05T | COP 14.23T | COP 15.35T |
| Operating income | COP 38.46T | COP 41.76T | COP 60.23T | COP 29.70T | COP 7.18T | COP 21.03T | COP 22.46T | COP 16.17T | COP 8.90T | COP 2.13T |
| Net income | COP 18.50T | COP 25.38T | COP 35.20T | COP 17.63T | COP 2.74T | COP 15.01T | COP 12.36T | COP 7.97T | COP 3.25T | -COP 6.29T |
| EPS (diluted) | COP 336.60 | COP 512.20 | COP 768.70 | COP 380.60 | COP 38.59 | COP 334.27 | — | — | — | — |
| Operating cash flow | COP 45.13T | COP 19.80T | COP 36.23T | COP 22.54T | COP 9.19T | COP 27.71T | COP 22.47T | COP 16.97T | COP 14.23T | COP 11.68T |
| Capital expenditure | COP 9.52T | COP 9.35T | COP 8.77T | COP 6.12T | COP 5.03T | COP 4.01T | COP 3.30T | COP 2.36T | COP 3.65T | COP 8.55T |
| Free cash flow | COP 35.61T | COP 10.45T | COP 27.47T | COP 16.42T | COP 4.15T | COP 23.70T | COP 19.17T | COP 14.61T | COP 10.59T | COP 3.13T |
| Total assets | COP 298.24T | COP 280.14T | COP 302.79T | COP 242.43T | COP 137.69T | COP 133.89T | COP 124.64T | COP 117.85T | COP 118.96T | — |
| Shareholder equity | COP 105.91T | COP 100.25T | COP 113.90T | COP 90.58T | COP 53.50T | COP 58.23T | COP 57.11T | COP 48.22T | COP 43.56T | COP 43.10T |
| Total debt | COP 119.97T | COP 105.82T | COP 115.13T | COP 95.06T | COP 46.73T | COP 38.24T | COP 38.06T | COP 43.55T | COP 52.22T | — |
| Cash | COP 14.05T | COP 12.34T | COP 15.40T | COP 14.55T | COP 5.08T | COP 7.08T | COP 6.31T | COP 7.95T | COP 8.41T | COP 6.55T |
| Dividends per share | — | — | — | — | — | COP 9251256.00 | COP 9251256.00 | — | — | — |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in COP, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from ECOPETROL S.A.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Apr 23, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.