DAR
DARLING INGREDIENTS INC.DARLING INGREDIENTS INC. reported revenue of $6.14B in its most recent fiscal year, up 7.4% on the year before. It kept 1.0% of that as net income, and generated $679.24M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Fats & Oils.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 7.4% | — | — |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | -2.1% | — | — |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 11.4% | — | — |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | -77.5% | — | — |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | -55.7% | — | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | -26.2% | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | 34.0% | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 17.2% | — | — |
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 24.0% | — | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 4.5% | — | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 1.0% | — | — |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 11.1% | — | — |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 1.3% | — | — |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 0.6% | — | — |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 3.2% | — | — |
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.82x | — | — |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 1.50x | — | — |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 0.99x | — | — |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 1.23x | — | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | 4.83x | — | — |
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Insider activity
Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. 2 of the last 13 reported transactions were open-market purchases; the rest are mostly sales and compensation.
| Date | Insider | Transaction | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 2, 2026 | STUEWE RANDALL C Chairman and CEO | Open-market sale | 5,000 | $68.20 | $341.0K |
| Aug 18, 2026 | MANZI JOSEPH Chief Accounting Officer | Open-market sale | 1,000 | $67.27 | $67.3K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Dudley Sandra EVP Chief Strategy Officer | Open-market sale | 3,876 | $67.87 | $263.1K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Dudley Sandra EVP Chief Strategy Officer | Withheld for tax | 3,330 | $67.88 | $226.0K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Dudley Sandra EVP Chief Strategy Officer | Open-market sale | 2,598 | $67.88 | $176.4K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Dudley Sandra EVP Chief Strategy Officer | Option exercise | 5,928 | $18.82 | $111.6K |
| Aug 17, 2026 | Dudley Sandra EVP Chief Strategy Officer | Option exercise(derivative) | 5,928 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 14, 2026 | McNutt Patrick EVP Chief Admin Officer | Open-market sale | 8,000 | $67.09 | $536.7K |
| Aug 13, 2026 | STUEWE RANDALL C Chairman and CEO | Open-market sale | 5,000 | $64.79 | $324.0K |
| Aug 12, 2026 | STUEWE RANDALL C Chairman and CEO | Open-market sale | 5,000 | $63.26 | $316.3K |
| Aug 10, 2026 | Kemphaus Nicholas James EVP Gen. Counsel & Secretary | Open-market sale | 1,591 | $63.05 | $100.3K |
| Jul 31, 2026 | Adair Charles L Director | Open-market purchase | 500 | $61.27 | $30.6K |
| Jul 31, 2026 | Adair Charles L Director | Open-market purchase | 500 | $60.67 | $30.3K |
A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $6.14B | $5.72B | $6.79B | $6.53B | $4.74B | $3.57B | $3.36B | $3.39B | $3.66B | $3.39B |
| Gross profit | $1.47B | $1.28B | $1.65B | $1.53B | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Operating income | $273.44M | $468.22M | $949.73M | $1.03B | $884.47M | $430.94M | $475.82M | $255.00M | $169.44M | $154.73M |
| Net income | $62.80M | $278.88M | $647.73M | $737.69M | $650.91M | $296.82M | $312.60M | $101.50M | $128.47M | $102.31M |
| EPS (diluted) | $0.39 | $1.73 | $3.99 | $4.49 | $3.90 | $1.78 | $1.86 | $0.60 | $0.77 | $0.62 |
| Operating cash flow | $1.06B | $839.29M | $899.26M | $813.74M | $704.42M | $624.65M | $362.62M | $398.62M | $410.44M | $391.00M |
| Capital expenditure | $380.48M | $332.46M | $555.48M | $391.31M | $274.13M | $280.12M | $359.50M | $321.90M | $274.17M | $243.52M |
| Free cash flow | $679.24M | $506.82M | $343.78M | $422.43M | $430.29M | $344.54M | $3.12M | $76.72M | $136.27M | $147.47M |
| Total assets | $10.30B | $10.07B | $11.06B | $9.20B | $6.13B | $5.61B | $5.35B | $4.89B | $4.96B | $4.70B |
| Shareholder equity | $4.74B | $4.38B | $4.61B | $3.81B | $3.28B | $2.89B | $2.57B | $2.27B | $2.24B | $1.97B |
| Total debt | $3.86B | $3.91B | $4.37B | $3.31B | $1.44B | $1.48B | $1.56B | $1.67B | $1.70B | $1.73B |
| Cash | $88.67M | $75.97M | $126.50M | $127.02M | $68.91M | $81.62M | $72.94M | $107.26M | $106.77M | $114.56M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Source
Figures come from DARLING INGREDIENTS INC.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Mar 3, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.