Lodestar

CBU

COMMUNITY FINANCIAL SYSTEM, INC.
NYSENational Commercial BanksLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

COMMUNITY FINANCIAL SYSTEM, INC. reported revenue of $818.01M in its most recent fiscal year, up 9.6% on the year before. It kept 25.7% of that as net income, and generated $233.33M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under National Commercial Banks.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C+51/100
Ranked against 33 peers using 7 metrics.
Profitability
C46/100
Ranked against 25 peers using 4 metrics.
Dividend coverage
F24/100
Ranked against 51 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
9.6%7.0%12 / 34
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
6.4%6.0%16 / 33
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported6.4%—
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
15.4%19.2%43 / 75
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
4.7%1.6%31 / 73
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
5.2%8.0%44 / 67
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
5.3%14.5%40 / 63
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
5.0%-2.1%22 / 59

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
25.7%34.8%26 / 34
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
28.5%83.6%18 / 25
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
10.5%9.9%36 / 82
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
1.2%1.0%23 / 82
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
46.4%36.3%56 / 68
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
41.8%33.2%38 / 51
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
2.3%4.3%43 / 58

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
17
since 2011 in this data
Consecutive increases
16 years
through 2025
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
$1.86
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. 3 of the last 5 reported transactions were open-market purchases; the rest are mostly sales and compensation.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 17, 2026
Sullivan Michele
Director
Grant or award(derivative)396$62.77$24.9K
Sep 17, 2026
Vaccaro John A
Director
Grant or award(derivative)347$62.77$21.7K
Sep 9, 2026
Singh Savneet
Director
Open-market purchase400$62.47$25.0K
Aug 27, 2026
Vaccaro John A
Director
Open-market purchase317$63.11$20.0K
Aug 24, 2026
Hall Brenda M
Director
Open-market purchase476$63.59$30.3K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$818.01M$746.30M$652.12M$679.36M——————
Net income$210.46M$182.48M$131.92M$188.08M$189.69M$164.68M$169.06M$168.64M$150.72M$103.81M
EPS (diluted)$3.97$3.44$2.45$3.46$3.48$3.08$3.23$3.24$3.03$2.32
Operating cash flow$301.86M$242.28M$228.42M$214.60M$202.55M$179.48M$202.50M$221.41M$189.67M$135.77M
Capital expenditure$68.53M$20.70M$18.59M$12.92M$13.38M$14.78M$5.69M$12.65M$10.82M$12.44M
Free cash flow$233.33M$221.57M$209.84M$201.68M$189.17M$164.70M$196.82M$208.76M$178.85M$123.33M
Total assets$17.30B$16.39B$15.56B$15.84B$15.55B$13.93B$11.41B$10.61B$10.75B$8.67B
Shareholder equity$2.01B$1.76B$1.70B$1.55B$2.10B$2.10B$1.86B$1.71B$1.64B$1.20B
Total debt—$990.20M—————$54.40M$24.00M$146.20M
Cash$301.75M$197.00M$190.96M$209.90M$1.88B$1.65B$205.03M$211.83M$221.04M$173.86M
Dividends per share$1.86$1.82$1.78$1.74$1.70$1.66$1.58$1.44$1.32$1.26

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from COMMUNITY FINANCIAL SYSTEM, INC.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 27, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.