Lodestar

CAKE

CHEESECAKE FACTORY INC
NasdaqRetail-Eating PlacesLatest fiscal year ended Dec 30, 2025

CHEESECAKE FACTORY INC reported revenue of $3.75B in its most recent fiscal year, up 4.7% on the year before. It kept 4.0% of that as net income, and generated $155.08M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Retail-Eating Places.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
B66/100
Ranked against 21 peers using 7 metrics.
Profitability
B+71/100
Ranked against 32 peers using 6 metrics.
Financial health
C41/100
Ranked against 27 peers using 4 metrics.
Dividend coverage
C+59/100
Ranked against 17 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
4.7%4.5%21 / 44
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
4.3%6.3%23 / 39
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
13.6%10.8%14 / 36
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
-4.4%-0.8%15 / 28
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
52.7%13.7%3 / 22
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported8.0%—
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
43.6%6.5%8 / 30
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
46.4%4.2%2 / 21

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported64.1%—
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
5.0%3.7%15 / 40
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
4.0%1.7%15 / 44
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
4.1%2.4%18 / 44
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
34.0%5.0%5 / 32
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
4.6%1.2%14 / 43
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
20.1%5.3%9 / 38

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
1.44x0.51x20 / 27
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
0.59x0.82x26 / 44
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
0.52x0.73x26 / 44
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported1.10x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
1.40x2.42x14 / 29

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
35.2%40.8%8 / 18
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
33.7%39.5%9 / 19
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
24.6%15.4%7 / 17

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
14
since 2012 in this data
Consecutive increases
None
most recent year was not an increase
Reductions
1
verified against dollars paid
Latest per share
$1.08
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. 1 of the last 21 reported transactions were open-market purchases; the rest are mostly sales and compensation.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 1, 2026
KRANSDORF JEROME I
Director
Gift200$0.00$0.00
Aug 26, 2026
KRANSDORF JEROME I
Director
Gift800$0.00$0.00
Aug 17, 2026
Meyer Janice L.
Director
Open-market sale1,958$109.36$214.1K
Aug 10, 2026
Gordon David M
PRESIDENT
Open-market sale16,866$109.98$1.85M
Aug 10, 2026
Gordon David M
PRESIDENT
Open-market sale15,084$110.08$1.66M
Aug 10, 2026
Gordon David M
PRESIDENT
Option exercise11,040$40.16$443.4K
Aug 10, 2026
Gordon David M
PRESIDENT
Option exercise(derivative)11,040$40.16$443.4K
Aug 10, 2026
Ames Edie A
Director
Open-market sale3,000$106.95$320.9K
Aug 10, 2026
Gordon David M
PRESIDENT
Option exercise(derivative)5,826$34.91$203.4K
Aug 10, 2026
Gordon David M
PRESIDENT
Option exercise5,826$34.91$203.4K
Aug 5, 2026
OVERTON DAVID
CHAIRMAN AND C.E.O.
Open-market sale94,145$106.27$10.00M
Aug 4, 2026
CAPPELLO ALEXANDER L
Director
Open-market sale64$106.08$6.8K
Aug 3, 2026
CAPPELLO ALEXANDER L
Director
Open-market sale59$104.20$6.1K
Jul 31, 2026
May Scarlett
EVP, GENERAL COUNSEL
Open-market sale7,978$102.66$819.0K
Jul 31, 2026
CAPPELLO ALEXANDER L
Director
Open-market sale100$103.04$10.3K
Jul 30, 2026
Clark Matthew Eliot
EXEC VP, CFO
Open-market sale68,900$99.30$6.84M
Jul 30, 2026
Clark Matthew Eliot
EXEC VP, CFO
Option exercise68,900$40.16$2.77M
Jul 30, 2026
Hanscom Ashley W
PRINCIPAL ACCOUNTING OFFICER
Open-market sale3,500$100.00$350.0K
Jul 30, 2026
CAPPELLO ALEXANDER L
Director
Open-market sale2,095$101.50$212.6K
Jul 30, 2026
Clark Matthew Eliot
EXEC VP, CFO
Option exercise(derivative)68,900$0.00$0.00
Mar 12, 2018
Ames Edie A
Director
Open-market purchase500$49.51$24.8K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year20252024 Dec2024 Jan2023202120202019201820172016
Revenue$3.75B$3.58B$3.44B$3.30B$2.93B$1.98B$2.48B$2.33B$2.26B$2.28B
Operating income$187.28M$178.32M$108.57M$38.94M$82.32M-$347.44M$103.60M$118.95M$152.84M$200.99M
Net income$148.43M$156.78M$101.35M$43.12M$72.37M-$253.37M$127.29M$99.03M$157.39M$139.49M
EPS (diluted)$3.06$3.20$2.07$0.86$1.01-$6.32$2.86$2.14$3.27$2.83
Operating cash flow$301.28M$268.32M$218.40M$161.93M$213.01M$2.91M$218.76M$291.31M$238.80M$316.38M
Capital expenditure$146.20M$160.36M$151.56M$112.46M$66.94M$50.33M$73.77M$102.91M$120.78M$115.82M
Free cash flow$155.08M$107.96M$66.84M$49.46M$146.06M-$47.42M$145.00M$188.41M$118.02M$200.56M
Total assets$3.26B$3.04B$2.84B$2.78B$2.80B$2.75B$2.84B$1.31B$1.33B$1.29B
Shareholder equity$436.43M$443.45M$318.06M$292.00M$330.17M$288.69M$571.74M$571.06M$613.53M$603.21M
Total debt$630.07M$452.06M$470.05M$468.03M$466.02M$280.00M$290.00M$10.00M$10.00M—
Cash$215.73M$84.18M$56.29M$114.78M$189.63M$154.09M$58.42M$26.58M$6.01M$53.84M
Dividends per share$1.08$1.08$1.08$0.81$0.36$0.36$1.38$1.24$1.06$1.06

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from CHEESECAKE FACTORY INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 23, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.