Lodestar

BWFG

Bankwell Financial Group, Inc.
NasdaqState Commercial BanksLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

Bankwell Financial Group, Inc. reported revenue of $2.83M in its most recent fiscal year, up 44.0% on the year before. It kept 1245.5% of that as net income, and generated $27.13M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under State Commercial Banks.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
B70/100
Ranked against 39 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
B+75/100
Ranked against 43 peers using 3 metrics.
Dividend coverage
B+71/100
Ranked against 115 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
44.0%5.9%6 / 55
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
38.1%6.1%3 / 53
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
29.1%5.5%2 / 39
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
261.8%15.3%5 / 144
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
-2.4%0.0%81 / 136
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
42.8%8.0%3 / 125
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
-7.5%11.0%90 / 127
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
-29.6%-4.1%112 / 125

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
1245.5%123.1%—
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
960.0%146.5%1 / 43
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
11.7%9.6%43 / 158
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
1.0%1.0%77 / 158
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
17.8%30.9%17 / 135
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
23.1%27.2%40 / 122
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
7.4%6.0%47 / 115

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
11
since 2015 in this data
Consecutive increases
None
most recent year was not an increase
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
$0.80
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. 23 of the last 24 reported transactions were open-market purchases; the rest are mostly sales and compensation.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 8, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director, 10% owner
Open-market purchase1,956$66.92$130.9K
Sep 8, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director, 10% owner
Open-market purchase1,304$66.92$87.3K
Sep 8, 2026
Dale Eric J
Director
Open-market purchase530$67.11$35.6K
Sep 8, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director, 10% owner
Open-market purchase515$66.94$34.5K
Sep 8, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director, 10% owner
Open-market purchase510$66.95$34.1K
Sep 8, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director, 10% owner
Open-market purchase432$66.95$28.9K
Sep 8, 2026
Porto Carl M
Director
Open-market purchase327$67.11$21.9K
Sep 8, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director, 10% owner
Open-market purchase283$66.98$19.0K
Sep 8, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director, 10% owner
Open-market purchase266$67.11$17.9K
Sep 8, 2026
Dunne Jeffrey R
Director
Open-market purchase261$67.11$17.5K
Sep 8, 2026
Drexler Blake S
Director
Open-market purchase116$67.11$7.8K
Aug 25, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase994$65.89$65.5K
Aug 25, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase662$65.90$43.6K
Aug 25, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase262$65.94$17.3K
Aug 25, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase259$65.94$17.1K
Aug 25, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase219$65.96$14.4K
Aug 25, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase144$66.01$9.5K
Aug 7, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase3,934$66.62$262.1K
Aug 7, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase2,621$66.62$174.6K
Aug 7, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase1,022$66.63$68.1K
Aug 7, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase1,012$66.63$67.4K
Aug 7, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase853$66.64$56.8K
Aug 7, 2026
SEIDMAN LAWRENCE B
Director
Open-market purchase558$66.65$37.2K
Jul 31, 2026
Hildebrand Ryan Jason
Chief Innovation Officer
Open-market sale2,246$66.74$149.9K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$2.83M$1.96M$1.63M$1.07M$872.0K$788.0K$1.02M$1.09M——
Net income$35.20M$9.77M$36.66M$37.43M$26.59M$5.90M$18.22M$17.43M$13.83M$12.35M
EPS (diluted)$4.45$1.23$4.67$4.79$3.36$0.75$2.31$2.21$1.78$1.62
Operating cash flow$28.27M$29.94M$31.93M$82.67M$34.56M-$1.51M$6.63M$19.98M$20.57M$17.37M
Capital expenditure$1.14M$613.0K$2.04M$4.96M——$645.0K$3.35M$1.87M$8.40M
Free cash flow$27.13M$29.32M$29.88M$77.71M——$5.99M$16.63M$18.70M$8.97M
Total assets$3.36B$3.27B$3.22B$3.25B$2.46B$2.25B$1.88B$1.87B$1.80B$1.63B
Shareholder equity$301.49M$270.52M$265.75M$238.47M$201.99M$176.60M$182.40M$174.20M$161.03M$145.90M
Cash$224.92M$307.52M$269.16M$355.68M$344.68M$409.60M$78.05M$78.11M$70.73M$96.36M
Dividends per share$0.80$0.80$0.80$0.80$0.64$0.56$0.52$0.48$0.28$0.22

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from Bankwell Financial Group, Inc.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Mar 4, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.