BCE
BCE INCBCE INC reported revenue of CAD 24.47B in its most recent fiscal year, up 0.2% on the year before. It kept 26.6% of that as net income, and generated CAD 3.29B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Telephone Communications (No Radiotelephone).
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 0.2% | 2.8% | 15 / 21 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 0.4% | 1.8% | 14 / 20 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 1.3% | 3.3% | 12 / 20 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | 3672.2% | 18.2% | 1 / 14 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | 31.6% | 7.0% | 3 / 9 |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | 19.7% | -1.1% | 1 / 7 |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | 6.5% | 7.3% | 10 / 16 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 0.6% | 4.4% | 9 / 12 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 68.4% | 46.5% | 3 / 11 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 5.4% | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 26.6% | 2.4% | 2 / 20 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 13.5% | 12.4% | 9 / 19 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 27.9% | 9.0% | 3 / 21 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 8.1% | 4.2% | 5 / 23 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | Not reported | 4.0% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 1.50x | 0.69x | 17 / 19 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 0.58x | 1.00x | 20 / 23 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 0.55x | 0.94x | 20 / 23 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | Not reported | 0.60x | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | 1.21x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Dividend coverage
Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Dividend payout ratio Dividends paid as a share of net income. | 33.4% | 47.4% | 4 / 12 |
Dividend / free cash flow Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test. | 66.1% | 30.1% | 13 / 14 |
Dividend growth (5y) Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years. | -7.1% | -7.1% | 4 / 7 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Dividend record
What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.
Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | CAD 24.47B | CAD 24.41B | CAD 24.67B | CAD 24.17B | CAD 23.45B | CAD 22.88B | CAD 23.79B | CAD 23.47B | CAD 22.72B | CAD 21.72B |
| Net income | CAD 6.51B | CAD 375.00M | CAD 2.33B | CAD 2.93B | CAD 2.89B | CAD 2.70B | CAD 3.25B | CAD 2.97B | CAD 3.05B | CAD 3.09B |
| EPS (diluted) | CAD 6.79 | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c |
| Operating cash flow | CAD 6.99B | CAD 6.99B | CAD 7.95B | CAD 8.37B | CAD 8.01B | CAD 7.75B | CAD 7.96B | CAD 7.38B | CAD 7.36B | CAD 6.64B |
| Capital expenditure | CAD 3.70B | CAD 3.90B | CAD 4.58B | CAD 5.13B | CAD 4.85B | CAD 4.20B | CAD 3.97B | CAD 3.97B | CAD 4.03B | CAD 3.77B |
| Free cash flow | CAD 3.29B | CAD 3.09B | CAD 3.37B | CAD 3.23B | CAD 3.16B | CAD 3.55B | CAD 3.98B | CAD 3.41B | CAD 3.32B | CAD 2.87B |
| Total assets | CAD 80.17B | CAD 73.48B | CAD 71.94B | CAD 69.33B | CAD 66.76B | CAD 60.66B | CAD 60.15B | CAD 57.10B | CAD 55.80B | CAD 50.11B |
| Shareholder equity | CAD 23.31B | CAD 17.36B | CAD 20.56B | CAD 22.52B | CAD 22.94B | CAD 21.33B | CAD 21.41B | CAD 20.69B | CAD 20.63B | CAD 18.92B |
| Total debt | CAD 34.90B | CAD 32.84B | CAD 34.38B | CAD 29.46B | CAD 28.04B | CAD 24.88B | CAD 23.25B | CAD 20.29B | CAD 19.32B | CAD 17.88B |
| Dividends per share | CAD 2.31 | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c | n/c |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in CAD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from BCE INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 40-F filed Mar 6, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.