Lodestar

THG

HANOVER INSURANCE GROUP, INC.
NYSEFire, Marine & Casualty InsuranceLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

HANOVER INSURANCE GROUP, INC. reported revenue of $6.59B in its most recent fiscal year, up 5.7% on the year before. It kept 10.0% of that as net income, and generated $1.17B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Fire, Marine & Casualty Insurance.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C+52/100
Ranked against 21 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
C+53/100
Ranked against 6 peers using 6 metrics.
Financial health
C43/100
Ranked against 7 peers using 3 metrics.
Dividend coverage
C47/100
Ranked against 19 peers using 2 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
5.7%7.8%34 / 57
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
6.4%11.3%40 / 53
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
6.4%8.6%34 / 49
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
55.2%31.1%17 / 46
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
78.2%34.6%6 / 29
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
14.0%18.9%21 / 32
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
47.0%12.0%7 / 33
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
18.4%17.6%10 / 21

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
14.1%13.6%4 / 8
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
10.0%12.0%35 / 57
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
17.7%18.7%19 / 36
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
18.5%14.2%22 / 57
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
3.9%3.7%27 / 57
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
19.9%18.4%3 / 6

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.34x0.23x33 / 44
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
21.60x13.19x2 / 8
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
0.10x0.08x6 / 7

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 37 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 25, 2026
RAMRATH JOSEPH R
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
LANE KATHY S
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
FARBER JEFFREY M
Executive Vice President
Grant or award42$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
LAVEY RICHARD W
Executive Vice President
Grant or award28$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Bunting Theodore H JR
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Roche John C
President and CEO
Grant or award120$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Carlin Jane D
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Aristeguieta Francisco
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Egan Cynthia
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Salvatore Bryan J
Executive Vice President
Grant or award24$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Bradicich Kevin
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Kerrigan Dennis Francis
Executive Vice President
Grant or award15$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Lee Willard T
Executive Vice President
Grant or award11$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Condrin J Paul
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Ward Elizabeth A
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
LOVELY DAVID JOHN
Executive Vice President
Grant or award10$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Donnell William E.
Director
Grant or award4$0.00$0.00
Sep 25, 2026
Norton-Gatto Patricia A.
SVP & Princpl. Accntg. Officer
Grant or award6$0.00$0.00
Aug 20, 2026
Kerrigan Dennis Francis
Executive Vice President
Open-market sale1,704$222.97$379.9K
Aug 20, 2026
Kerrigan Dennis Francis
Executive Vice President
Option exercise2,104$118.54$249.4K
Aug 20, 2026
Kerrigan Dennis Francis
Executive Vice President
Open-market sale400$220.01$88.0K
Aug 20, 2026
Kerrigan Dennis Francis
Executive Vice President
Option exercise(derivative)2,104$0.00$0.00
Aug 19, 2026
Kerrigan Dennis Francis
Executive Vice President
Open-market sale4,822$220.41$1.06M
Aug 19, 2026
Kerrigan Dennis Francis
Executive Vice President
Option exercise6,551$118.54$776.6K
Aug 19, 2026
Kerrigan Dennis Francis
Executive Vice President
Open-market sale1,505$221.73$333.7K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$6.59B$6.24B$5.99B$5.47B$5.23B$4.82B$4.89B$4.49B$4.27B$4.05B
Operating income$933.00M$650.10M$105.60M$285.10M$432.30M$484.70M$453.60M$406.50M$327.30M$192.90M
Net income$662.50M$426.00M$35.30M$116.00M$422.80M$358.70M$425.10M$391.00M$186.20M$155.10M
EPS (diluted)$18.16$11.70$0.98$3.21$11.60$9.42$10.46$9.09$4.33$3.59
Operating cash flow$1.18B$806.40M$361.70M$722.30M$823.70M$707.60M$602.90M$551.30M$704.60M$743.40M
Capital expenditure$7.70M$10.20M$11.90M$17.80M$8.00M$14.90M$13.30M$13.10M$18.60M$15.70M
Free cash flow$1.17B$796.20M$349.80M$704.50M$815.70M$692.70M$589.60M$538.20M$686.00M$727.70M
Total assets$16.95B$15.27B$14.61B$14.00B$14.25B$13.44B$12.49B$12.40B$15.47B$14.22B
Shareholder equity$3.57B$2.84B$2.47B$2.33B$3.14B$3.20B$2.92B$2.95B$3.00B$2.86B
Total debt$1.22B$784.10M$783.20M$782.40M$781.60M$780.80M$653.40M$777.90M$786.90M$786.40M
Cash$1.12B$435.50M$316.10M$305.00M$230.90M$120.60M$215.70M$1.02B$297.90M$147.30M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from HANOVER INSURANCE GROUP, INC.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 20, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.