Lodestar

SW

Smurfit Westrock plc
NYSEPaperboard Containers & BoxesLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

Smurfit Westrock plc reported revenue of $31.18B in its most recent fiscal year, up 47.7% on the year before. It kept 2.2% of that as net income, and generated $1.20B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Paperboard Containers & Boxes.

Grades vs. industry

Profitability
D30/100
Ranked against 5 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
47.7%8.7%1 / 5
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
32.2%2.0%1 / 5
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported——
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
62.2%——
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
-30.5%——
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported——
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
6958.8%——
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
33.6%——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
19.4%——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
5.5%9.3%4 / 5
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
2.2%5.2%4 / 5
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
3.8%——
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
3.8%——
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
1.5%3.8%4 / 5
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
4.0%——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.74x——
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
1.48x1.30x2 / 5
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
0.95x0.60x2 / 5
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
2.05x——
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
2.97x——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
128.8%——
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
75.0%——
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
Not reported——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
4
since 2024 in this data
Consecutive increases
None
most recent year was not an increase
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
$1.72
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 30 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 10, 2026
SMURFIT ANTHONY P J
President and CEO
Grant or award486$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
SMURFIT ANTHONY P J
President and CEO
Grant or award(derivative)910$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
WILSON ALAN D
Director
Grant or award674$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
BERNLOHR TIMOTHY J
Director
Grant or award48$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Finan Irial
Director
Grant or award75$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Arnold Colleen F.
Director
Grant or award344$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
FergusonMchugh MaryLynn
Director
Grant or award48$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Harrison Suzan F.
Director
Grant or award48$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Brown Carole Lynnette
Director
Grant or award48$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Hietala Kaisa
Director
Grant or award48$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Rasmussen Jorgen Buhl
Director
Grant or award48$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Fairweather Carol
Director
Grant or award48$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Bowles Ken
Executive VP and CFO
Grant or award140$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Bowles Ken
Executive VP and CFO
Grant or award(derivative)458$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Garren Ben
See remarks
Grant or award56$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Sellier Laurent
See remarks
Grant or award140$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Sellier Laurent
See remarks
Grant or award(derivative)335$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Henao Alvaro
See remarks
Grant or award35$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Henao Alvaro
See remarks
Grant or award(derivative)208$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Mayer Saverio
See remarks
Grant or award119$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Mayer Saverio
See remarks
Grant or award(derivative)403$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Page Irene
Chief Accounting Officer
Grant or award23$0.00$0.00
Sep 10, 2026
Page Irene
Chief Accounting Officer
Grant or award(derivative)152$0.00$0.00
Aug 14, 2026
SMURFIT ANTHONY P J
President and Group CEO
Grant or award784$0.00$0.00
Aug 14, 2026
Sellier Laurent
See remarks
Grant or award234$0.00$0.00

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022
Revenue$31.18B$21.11B$12.09B$13.51B
Gross profit$6.04B$4.20B$3.05B$3.27B
Operating income$1.72B$1.01B$1.37B$1.56B
Net income$699.00M$319.00M$825.00M$1.03B
EPS (diluted)$1.33$0.82$3.17$3.96
Operating cash flow$3.39B$1.48B$1.56B$1.43B
Capital expenditure$2.19B$1.47B$929.00M$930.00M
Free cash flow$1.20B$17.00M$630.00M$503.00M
Total assets$45.16B$43.76B$14.05B—
Shareholder equity$18.33B$17.36B$6.16B$107.00
Total debt$13.57B$14.11B$3.75B—
Cash$892.00M$855.00M$1.00B$841.00M
Dividends per share$1.72$1.89$1.50$1.35

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from Smurfit Westrock plc’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 27, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.