Lodestar

SONY

Sony Group Corp
NYSEHousehold Audio & Video EquipmentLatest fiscal year ended Mar 31, 2025

Sony Group Corp reported revenue of ¥12.96T in its most recent fiscal year, down 0.5% on the year before. It kept 9.0% of that as net income, and generated ¥1.67T of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Household Audio & Video Equipment.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
B+75/100
Ranked against 7 peers using 3 metrics.
Profitability
A83/100
Ranked against 7 peers using 7 metrics.
Financial health
D38/100
Ranked against 6 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
-0.5%3.1%6 / 9
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
9.3%-4.2%1 / 9
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
9.4%-3.3%1 / 7
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
19.6%——
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
-35.6%——
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
-16.4%——
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
123.4%——
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
28.3%——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
34.4%41.6%6 / 9
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
10.9%-7.6%2 / 8
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
9.0%-4.6%1 / 8
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
12.9%0.9%1 / 7
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
13.6%-17.2%1 / 9
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
3.3%-7.4%2 / 9
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
14.0%-4.4%1 / 7

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.28x——
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
0.70x2.75x9 / 9
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
0.57x1.58x8 / 9
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
19.42x-11.26x1 / 6
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
-0.30x——

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
9.9%——
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
6.9%——
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
-26.0%——

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
17
since 2009 in this data
Consecutive increases
None
most recent year was not an increase
Reductions
1
verified against dollars paid
Latest per share
¥10.00
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

One or more years could not be compared — usually a stock split changing the per-share basis — so the streak is measured only from the point the figures become comparable. It is a floor, not a maximum.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 40 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 16, 2026
Ito Yasuhiro
Chief People Officer (CPO)
Open-market sale9,000$24.29$218.6K
Sep 11, 2026
Ito Yasuhiro
Chief People Officer (CPO)
Option exercise9,000$8.35$75.2K
Sep 11, 2026
Ito Yasuhiro
Chief People Officer (CPO)
Option exercise(derivative)9,000$0.00$0.00
Aug 17, 2026
Tanaka Kenji
See Remarks
Open-market sale20,000$23.83$476.6K
Aug 17, 2026
Sashida Shinji
See Remarks
Option exercise4,000$11.61$46.4K
Aug 17, 2026
Sashida Shinji
See Remarks
Option exercise3,000$8.42$25.3K
Aug 17, 2026
Sashida Shinji
See Remarks
Option exercise(derivative)3,000$0.00$0.00
Aug 17, 2026
Sashida Shinji
See Remarks
Option exercise(derivative)4,000$0.00$0.00
Aug 13, 2026
Tanaka Kenji
See Remarks
Option exercise6,500$8.08$52.5K
Aug 13, 2026
Tanaka Kenji
See Remarks
Option exercise2,500$8.41$21.0K
Aug 13, 2026
Tanaka Kenji
See Remarks
Option exercise(derivative)6,500$0.00$0.00
Aug 13, 2026
Tanaka Kenji
See Remarks
Option exercise(derivative)2,500$0.00$0.00
Aug 5, 2026
Stringer Robert Adrian
See Remarks
Open-market sale445,000$22.49$10.01M
Aug 5, 2026
Stringer Robert Adrian
See Remarks
Open-market sale100,547$22.49$2.26M
Aug 4, 2026
Kodera Tsuyoshi
Chief Digital Officer (CDO)
Open-market sale17,100$22.72$388.5K
Aug 4, 2026
Ahuja Ravi
See Remarks
Open-market sale15,580$22.71$353.8K
Aug 3, 2026
Ahuja Ravi
See Remarks
Option exercise(derivative)27,447$0.00$0.00
Aug 3, 2026
Kodera Tsuyoshi
Chief Digital Officer (CDO)
Option exercise(derivative)37,055$0.00$0.00
Aug 3, 2026
Kodera Tsuyoshi
Chief Digital Officer (CDO)
Option exercise37,055——
Aug 3, 2026
Ahuja Ravi
See Remarks
Option exercise27,447——
Jul 24, 2026
Sashida Shinji
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)40,300$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Hyodo Masayuki
Director
Grant or award(derivative)5,550$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
Tanaka Kenji
See Remarks
Grant or award(derivative)19,630$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
MORROW WILLIAM T
Director
Grant or award(derivative)5,550$0.00$0.00
Jul 24, 2026
HUNT NEIL D
Director
Grant or award(derivative)5,550$0.00$0.00

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120192018201720162015
Revenue¥12.96T¥13.02T¥10.97T¥9.92T¥9.00T¥8.26T¥8.67T¥8.54T¥7.60T¥8.11T
Operating income¥1.41T¥1.21T¥1.30T¥1.20T¥971.87B¥845.46B¥894.24B¥734.86B¥288.70B¥294.20B
Net income¥1.16T¥980.49B¥1.01T¥888.41B¥1.17T¥582.19B¥916.27B¥490.79B¥73.29B¥147.79B
EPS (diluted)¥187.92¥157.14¥161.97n/cn/cn/cn/cn/cn/cn/c
Operating cash flow¥2.32T¥1.37T¥314.69B¥1.23T¥1.35T¥1.35T¥1.26T¥1.25T¥807.53B¥749.09B
Capital expenditure¥647.53B¥623.95B¥613.63B¥441.10B¥512.24B¥439.76B¥312.64B¥262.99B¥333.51B¥375.41B
Free cash flow¥1.67T¥749.27B-¥298.94B¥792.55B¥837.91B¥909.98B¥946.09B¥990.98B¥474.02B¥373.68B
Total assets¥35.29T¥34.11T¥31.15T¥30.48T¥26.35T¥23.04T¥20.98T¥19.07T¥17.66T¥16.67T
Shareholder equity¥8.51T¥7.76T¥6.66T¥7.20T¥5.58T¥4.13T¥3.75T¥2.97T¥2.50T¥2.46T
Total debt¥2.35T¥2.28T¥1.96T¥1.38T¥1.26T¥1.45T¥1.19T¥1.12T¥1.15T¥705.88B
Cash¥2.98T¥1.91T¥1.48T¥2.05T¥1.79T¥1.51T¥1.47T¥1.59T¥960.14B¥983.61B
Dividends per share¥10.00¥45.00¥40.00n/cn/cn/cn/cn/cn/cn/c

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Amounts are in JPY, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.

n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from Sony Group Corp’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Jun 20, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.