Lodestar

SGU

STAR GROUP, L.P.
NYSERetail-Retail Stores, NECLatest fiscal year ended Sep 30, 2025

STAR GROUP, L.P. reported revenue of $1.78B in its most recent fiscal year, up 1.0% on the year before. It kept 4.1% of that as net income, and generated $56.03M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Retail-Retail Stores, NEC.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C+60/100
Ranked against 6 peers using 5 metrics.
Profitability
B+71/100
Ranked against 15 peers using 5 metrics.
Financial health
F29/100
Ranked against 10 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
1.0%0.4%9 / 18
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
-3.8%-1.2%10 / 17
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
4.0%3.2%7 / 16
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
Not reported-13.9%—
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported2.2%—
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported0.7%—
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
-44.2%-44.2%5 / 9
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
54.5%21.0%1 / 6

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
31.5%36.7%10 / 16
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
6.4%-1.5%4 / 18
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
4.1%-0.8%5 / 18
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
3.1%-0.9%4 / 15
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported-2.9%—
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
7.8%-1.0%4 / 19
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported-13.1%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported0.17x—
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
0.59x1.41x18 / 19
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
0.46x0.76x15 / 19
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported-0.89x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
1.08x1.39x5 / 10

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$1.78B$1.77B$1.95B$2.01B$1.50B$1.47B$1.75B$1.68B$1.32B$1.16B
Gross profit$562.87M$501.82M$470.75M$484.23M$477.65M$475.02M$487.71M$463.34M$408.50M$392.50M
Operating income$114.47M$61.10M$62.55M$60.45M$130.20M$92.97M$37.35M$66.07M$55.33M$87.40M
Net income$73.50M$35.22M$31.95M$35.29M$87.74M$55.92M$17.64M$55.51M$26.90M$44.93M
Operating cash flow$70.95M$110.98M$123.66M$33.91M$68.88M$175.67M$97.38M$57.46M$21.06M$101.96M
Capital expenditure$14.92M$10.65M$9.01M$18.70M$15.08M$14.13M$11.30M$13.59M$12.16M$10.13M
Free cash flow$56.03M$100.33M$114.65M$15.21M$53.79M$161.54M$86.08M$43.87M$8.89M$91.82M
Total assets$937.33M$939.61M$875.48M$912.48M$853.86M$838.62M$752.71M$729.97M$673.92M$692.11M
Total debt$188.12M$208.81M$147.83M$164.08M$110.01M$122.81M$129.45M$99.28M$75.72M$91.64M
Cash$24.68M$117.33M$45.19M$14.62M$4.77M$56.91M$4.90M$14.53M$52.46M$139.19M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from STAR GROUP, L.P.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Dec 9, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.