SENEA
Seneca Foods CorpSeneca Foods Corp reported revenue of $1.58B in its most recent fiscal year, up 8.2% on the year before. It kept 2.6% of that as net income, and generated $298.25M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Canned, Fruits, Veg, Preserves, Jams & Jellies.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 8.2% | — | — |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 4.5% | — | — |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 3.4% | — | — |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | -31.1% | — | — |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | 4.0% | — | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | 1.1% | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | Not reported | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 9.5% | — | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 4.9% | — | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 2.6% | — | — |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 18.9% | — | — |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 6.5% | — | — |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 3.5% | — | — |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 5.6% | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.74x | — | — |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 3.52x | — | — |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 0.71x | — | — |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 2.34x | — | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | 3.45x | — | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Insider activity
Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. 1 of the last 7 reported transactions were open-market purchases; the rest are mostly sales and compensation.
| Date | Insider | Transaction | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 4, 2026 | Erstad Dean Everett Senior VP Sales & Marketing | Open-market sale | 1,587 | $206.16 | $327.2K |
| Aug 26, 2026 | Wolcott Michael S SVP, CFO & Treasurer | Open-market purchase | 15,222 | $0.25 | $3.8K |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Erstad Dean Everett Senior VP Sales & Marketing | Grant or award | 1,000 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Palmby Paul Laurence President & CEO | Grant or award | 2,500 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Nelson Timothy Robert Chief Operating Officer | Grant or award | 1,000 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Ide Gregory R VP, Controller/Asst.Secretary | Grant or award | 500 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Wolcott Michael S SVP, CFO & Treasurer | Grant or award | 1,000 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2019 | 2018 Mar | 2018 Mar | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $1.58B | $1.46B | $1.51B | $1.39B | $1.47B | $1.34B | $1.20B | $1.31B | — | $1.26B |
| Gross profit | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | $81.00M | — | $112.00M |
| Operating income | $77.77M | $107.23M | $21.36M | $64.01M | $181.07M | $70.52M | -$38.08M | $14.83M | — | $34.74M |
| Net income | $41.22M | $63.32M | $9.23M | $46.20M | $126.10M | $52.34M | $5.75M | -$8.48M | $11.84M | $15.89M |
| EPS (diluted) | $5.90 | $8.56 | $1.16 | $5.24 | $13.72 | $5.58 | $0.59 | -$0.87 | — | $1.60 |
| Operating cash flow | $335.48M | -$82.96M | -$212.80M | $30.15M | $183.18M | $127.32M | $97.12M | -$13.19M | — | $24.32M |
| Capital expenditure | $37.23M | $36.64M | $70.63M | $53.37M | $71.43M | $65.69M | $37.73M | $32.66M | — | $32.14M |
| Free cash flow | $298.25M | -$119.60M | -$283.42M | -$23.21M | $111.75M | $61.63M | $59.39M | -$45.85M | — | -$7.82M |
| Total assets | $1.18B | $1.38B | $1.21B | $942.27M | $909.35M | $909.31M | $848.88M | $1.03B | $1.01B | $978.27M |
| Shareholder equity | $633.02M | $582.89M | $554.75M | $579.03M | $577.82M | $394.36M | $417.49M | $411.06M | $433.24M | $425.20M |
| Total debt | $465.88M | $604.79M | $442.69M | $113.62M | $98.58M | $217.58M | $266.25M | $409.40M | $349.43M | $332.63M |
| Cash | $42.69M | $4.48M | $5.24M | $10.90M | $59.84M | $10.70M | $11.48M | $15.10M | $15.78M | $11.99M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Source
Figures come from Seneca Foods Corp’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Jun 12, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.