Lodestar

MAIN

Main Street Capital CORP
NYSELatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

Grades vs. industry

No grades available. Grades compare a company against others sharing its industry classification, and this one does not have enough classified peers with reported figures to support a meaningful comparison.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
Not reported——
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported——
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported——
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
0.5%——
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
6.3%——
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
13.5%——
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
Not reported——
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported——

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
Not reported——
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
16.5%——
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
8.7%——
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported——

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.82x——
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported——
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported——

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
76.6%——
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
Not reported——
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
Not reported——

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
5
since 2022 in this data
Consecutive increases
4 years
through 2025
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
$4.23
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 40 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 28, 2026
FOSTER VINCENT D
Director
Other1,297$55.10$71.4K
Sep 28, 2026
Hyzak Dwayne L.
CEO, SMD
Other499$55.10$27.5K
Sep 28, 2026
Griffin Jon Kevin
Director
Other282$55.07$15.5K
Sep 28, 2026
JACKSON JOHN EARL
Director
Other275$55.07$15.2K
Sep 28, 2026
SOLCHER STEPHEN B
Director
Other227$55.07$12.5K
Sep 28, 2026
Lane Brian E.
Director
Other210$55.07$11.6K
Sep 28, 2026
FOSTER VINCENT D
Director
Other192$55.10$10.6K
Sep 28, 2026
Beauvais Jason B
EVP, GC, SECRETARY
Other121$55.10$6.7K
Sep 28, 2026
SHIVE DUNIA A
Director
Other118$55.07$6.5K
Sep 28, 2026
JACKSON JOHN EARL
Director
Other108$55.10$5.9K
Sep 28, 2026
FOSTER VINCENT D
Director
Other99$55.10$5.5K
Sep 28, 2026
FOSTER VINCENT D
Director
Other99$55.10$5.5K
Sep 28, 2026
Lane Brian E.
Director
Other79$55.10$4.4K
Sep 28, 2026
Magdol David L.
PRESIDENT, CIO AND SMD
Other71$55.10$3.9K
Sep 28, 2026
McHugh Ryan
VP, CAO & Assistant Treasurer
Other52$55.10$2.9K
Sep 28, 2026
McHugh Ryan
VP, CAO & Assistant Treasurer
Other45$55.10$2.5K
Sep 28, 2026
Griffin Jon Kevin
Director
Other25$55.10$1.4K
Sep 28, 2026
FOSTER VINCENT D
Director
Other16$55.10$873.80
Sep 15, 2026
FOSTER VINCENT D
Director
Other1,114$56.37$62.8K
Sep 15, 2026
Hyzak Dwayne L.
CEO, SMD
Other429$56.37$24.2K
Sep 15, 2026
Griffin Jon Kevin
Director
Other242$56.54$13.7K
Sep 15, 2026
JACKSON JOHN EARL
Director
Other236$56.54$13.3K
Sep 15, 2026
SOLCHER STEPHEN B
Director
Other194$56.54$11.0K
Sep 15, 2026
Lane Brian E.
Director
Other180$56.54$10.2K
Sep 15, 2026
FOSTER VINCENT D
Director
Other165$56.37$9.3K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year202520242023202220212020
Net income$493.40M$508.08M$428.45M$241.61M$330.76M$29.38M
EPS (diluted)$3.95$3.93$4.04$3.29n/cn/c
Operating cash flow-$45.70M-$87.12M$285.32M-$246.94M-$515.37M-$54.08M
Total assets$5.68B$5.12B$4.44B$4.24B$3.69B—
Shareholder equity$2.99B$2.80B$2.48B$2.11B$1.79B$1.51B
Total debt$2.46B$2.12B$1.80B$2.00B$1.80B—
Cash$41.96M$78.25M$60.08M$49.12M$32.63M$31.92M
Dividends per share$4.23$4.11$3.69$2.60n/cn/c

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from Main Street Capital CORP’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 27, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.