Lodestar

KNSL

Kinsale Capital Group, Inc.
NYSEFire, Marine & Casualty InsuranceLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

Kinsale Capital Group, Inc. reported revenue of $1.87B in its most recent fiscal year, up 18.0% on the year before. It kept 26.9% of that as net income, and generated $990.05M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Fire, Marine & Casualty Insurance.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
B64/100
Ranked against 21 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
A86/100
Ranked against 36 peers using 4 metrics.
Dividend coverage
A86/100
Ranked against 19 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
18.0%7.8%18 / 57
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
30.7%11.3%10 / 53
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
32.4%8.6%6 / 49
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
21.8%31.1%30 / 46
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
46.5%34.6%11 / 29
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
41.1%18.9%7 / 32
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
4.0%12.0%22 / 33
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
21.6%17.6%9 / 21

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported——
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported13.6%—
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
26.9%12.0%8 / 57
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
52.8%18.7%3 / 36
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
25.7%14.2%12 / 57
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
8.3%3.7%10 / 57
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported18.4%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
0.11x0.23x15 / 44
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
Not reported——
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported13.19x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported0.08x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
3.1%17.6%7 / 36
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
1.6%10.5%2 / 19
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
13.6%4.7%5 / 27

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
8
since 2018 in this data
Consecutive increases
7 years
through 2025
Reductions
None
in the years covered
Latest per share
$0.68
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$1.87B$1.59B$1.22B$838.80M$653.47M$459.89M$315.89M$222.11M$186.78M$141.62M
Net income$503.61M$414.84M$308.09M$159.11M$152.66M$88.42M$63.32M$33.79M$24.90M$26.17M
EPS (diluted)$21.65$17.78$13.22$6.88$6.62$3.87$2.86$1.56$1.16—
Operating cash flow$1.04B$976.30M$859.84M$557.82M$407.04M$279.97M$178.36M$103.98M$77.40M$73.74M
Capital expenditure$53.69M$23.94M$6.61M$6.90M$5.92M$32.88M$19.62M$1.27M$179.0K$565.0K
Free cash flow$990.05M$952.36M$853.23M$550.91M$401.12M$247.10M$158.74M$102.71M$77.22M$73.18M
Total assets$6.04B$4.89B$3.77B$2.75B$2.03B$1.55B$1.09B$773.06M$667.85M$614.39M
Shareholder equity$1.96B$1.48B$1.09B$745.45M$699.34M$576.24M$405.88M$263.99M$238.19M$210.21M
Total debt$224.40M$184.12M$183.85M$195.75M$42.70M—————
Cash$163.36M$113.21M$126.69M$156.27M$121.04M$77.09M$100.41M$75.09M$81.75M$50.75M
Dividends per share$0.68$0.60$0.56$0.52$0.44$0.36$0.32$0.28——

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from Kinsale Capital Group, Inc.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 20, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.