IMAX
IMAX CORPIMAX CORP reported revenue of $410.21M in its most recent fiscal year, up 16.5% on the year before. It kept 8.5% of that as net income, and generated $118.90M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Photographic Equipment & Supplies.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 16.5% | — | — |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 10.9% | — | — |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 24.5% | — | — |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | 31.3% | — | — |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | 90.5% | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 137.3% | — | — |
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 60.0% | — | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 20.5% | — | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 8.5% | — | — |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 29.0% | — | — |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 10.3% | — | — |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 3.9% | — | — |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 32.4% | — | — |
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | Not reported | — | — |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | Not reported | — | — |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | Not reported | — | — |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 11.44x | — | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | -1.03x | — | — |
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Insider activity
Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 14 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.
| Date | Insider | Transaction | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 15, 2026 | Dolci Giovanni M. Chief Commercial Officer & EVP | Grant or award(derivative) | 2,578 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Sep 10, 2026 | LISTER ROBERT D Chief Legal Officer Sr Exec VP | Open-market sale | 22,500 | $51.58 | $1.16M |
| Aug 25, 2026 | WELTON MARK President IMAX Global Theatres | Open-market sale | 30,000 | $54.47 | $1.63M |
| Aug 25, 2026 | Weissman Kenneth Ian Deputy GC, Corp. Sec. & CCO | Open-market sale | 8,000 | $54.54 | $436.3K |
| Aug 24, 2026 | Fernandes Natasha Chief Financial Officer & EVP | Open-market sale | 20,000 | $54.63 | $1.09M |
| Aug 20, 2026 | GELFOND RICHARD L Chief Executive Officer | Open-market sale | 100,000 | $53.23 | $5.32M |
| Aug 20, 2026 | PABLO CALAMERA CTO & EVP | Open-market sale | 15,000 | $52.41 | $786.2K |
| Aug 19, 2026 | GELFOND RICHARD L Chief Executive Officer | Open-market sale | 205,504 | $53.27 | $10.95M |
| Aug 19, 2026 | GELFOND RICHARD L Chief Executive Officer | Conversion | 205,504 | $31.90 | $6.56M |
| Aug 19, 2026 | GELFOND RICHARD L Chief Executive Officer | Conversion(derivative) | 205,504 | $31.90 | $6.56M |
| Aug 18, 2026 | GELFOND RICHARD L Chief Executive Officer | Open-market sale | 151,253 | $51.00 | $7.71M |
| Aug 18, 2026 | GELFOND RICHARD L Chief Executive Officer | Conversion | 151,253 | $31.90 | $4.82M |
| Aug 18, 2026 | GELFOND RICHARD L Chief Executive Officer | Conversion(derivative) | 151,253 | $31.90 | $4.82M |
| Aug 6, 2026 | Zlatar Jose Aleksandr SVP, Controller & PAO | Open-market sale | 500 | $49.90 | $24.9K |
A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $410.21M | $352.21M | $374.84M | $300.81M | $254.88M | $137.00M | $395.66M | $374.40M | $380.77M | $377.33M |
| Gross profit | $246.19M | $190.20M | $214.34M | $156.35M | $134.41M | $21.54M | $214.17M | $207.93M | $185.25M | $202.68M |
| Operating income | $84.23M | $43.86M | $50.40M | -$4.83M | $10.98M | -$121.82M | $77.28M | $45.18M | $31.44M | $58.60M |
| Net income | $34.88M | $26.06M | $25.34M | -$22.80M | -$22.33M | -$143.78M | $46.87M | $22.84M | $2.34M | $28.79M |
| EPS (diluted) | $0.63 | $0.48 | $0.46 | -$0.40 | -$0.38 | -$2.43 | $0.76 | $0.36 | $0.04 | $0.42 |
| Operating cash flow | $127.07M | $70.84M | $58.62M | $17.32M | $6.07M | -$23.01M | $90.38M | $109.97M | $85.37M | $77.87M |
| Capital expenditure | $8.17M | $8.43M | $6.49M | $8.42M | $3.59M | $697.0K | $7.42M | $13.37M | $24.14M | $15.28M |
| Free cash flow | $118.90M | $62.41M | $52.12M | $8.90M | $2.48M | -$23.71M | $82.95M | $96.60M | $61.22M | $62.59M |
| Total assets | $894.03M | $830.40M | $814.67M | $821.15M | $883.25M | $997.75M | $889.07M | $873.60M | $866.61M | $857.33M |
| Shareholder equity | $337.89M | $299.47M | $273.14M | $263.36M | $356.08M | $394.00M | $547.69M | $512.16M | $527.75M | $562.01M |
| Total debt | — | — | — | — | $2.47M | $305.68M | $18.23M | $37.75M | $25.36M | $27.32M |
| Cash | $151.17M | $100.59M | $76.20M | $97.40M | $189.71M | $317.38M | $109.48M | $141.59M | $158.72M | $204.76M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Source
Figures come from IMAX CORP’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 25, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.