GFL
GFL Environmental Inc.GFL Environmental Inc. reported revenue of CAD 6.62B in its most recent fiscal year, up 7.8% on the year before. It kept 57.6% of that as net income, and generated CAD 174.60M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Refuse Systems.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 7.8% | 7.0% | 5 / 10 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | -0.7% | 7.7% | 7 / 8 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 9.5% | 11.2% | 7 / 8 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | Not reported | — | — |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | -49.7% | 8.4% | 6 / 7 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | -19.2% | 3.6% | 5 / 5 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 20.7% | 33.8% | 7 / 9 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 2.9% | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 57.6% | 0.4% | 1 / 10 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 2.6% | 3.7% | 6 / 9 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 50.9% | 0.7% | 1 / 10 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 19.8% | 0.3% | 1 / 10 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | Not reported | 2.0% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.99x | 1.07x | 4 / 9 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 0.58x | 0.63x | 7 / 10 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 0.55x | 0.62x | 7 / 10 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | Not reported | 1.00x | — |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | 2.98x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | CAD 6.62B | CAD 6.14B | CAD 7.52B | CAD 6.76B | CAD 5.14B | CAD 4.20B | CAD 3.35B |
| Net income | CAD 3.81B | -CAD 737.70M | CAD 32.20M | -CAD 311.10M | -CAD 606.80M | -CAD 994.90M | -CAD 451.70M |
| EPS (diluted) | CAD 9.99 | -CAD 2.11 | -CAD 0.13 | -CAD 1.08 | -CAD 1.83 | -CAD 3.10 | — |
| Operating cash flow | CAD 1.32B | CAD 1.54B | CAD 980.40M | CAD 1.10B | CAD 897.90M | CAD 502.20M | CAD 251.00M |
| Capital expenditure | CAD 1.14B | CAD 1.19B | CAD 1.06B | CAD 765.20M | CAD 647.20M | CAD 428.30M | CAD 457.80M |
| Free cash flow | CAD 174.60M | CAD 347.20M | -CAD 74.70M | CAD 331.10M | CAD 250.70M | CAD 73.90M | -CAD 206.80M |
| Total assets | CAD 19.30B | CAD 21.21B | CAD 19.88B | CAD 19.77B | CAD 18.40B | CAD 15.73B | CAD 12.32B |
| Shareholder equity | CAD 7.49B | CAD 7.22B | CAD 7.39B | CAD 6.04B | CAD 5.78B | CAD 5.57B | CAD 2.77B |
| Total debt | CAD 7.42B | CAD 10.00B | CAD 8.84B | CAD 9.27B | CAD 8.00B | CAD 6.17B | CAD 7.63B |
| Cash | CAD 85.60M | CAD 133.80M | CAD 135.70M | CAD 82.10M | CAD 190.40M | CAD 27.20M | CAD 574.80M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in CAD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from GFL Environmental Inc.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 40-F filed Feb 18, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.