Lodestar

FFIV

F5, INC.
NasdaqComputer Communications EquipmentLatest fiscal year ended Sep 30, 2025

F5, INC. reported revenue of $3.09B in its most recent fiscal year, up 9.7% on the year before. It kept 22.4% of that as net income, and generated $906.41M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Computer Communications Equipment.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C+55/100
Ranked against 6 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
A87/100
Ranked against 13 peers using 7 metrics.
Financial health
D38/100
Ranked against 8 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
9.7%10.1%9 / 16
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
4.6%2.3%6 / 16
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
5.6%5.2%6 / 13
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
23.6%23.6%4 / 7
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
30.8%26.0%3 / 7
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
18.7%19.8%4 / 6
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
18.9%15.7%5 / 11
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
30.4%17.9%3 / 6

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
81.4%52.6%1 / 16
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
24.8%3.5%2 / 15
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
22.4%3.3%2 / 15
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
29.4%9.1%2 / 13
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
19.3%4.8%5 / 14
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
11.0%0.0%2 / 16
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
29.2%4.4%3 / 14

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported0.42x—
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
1.56x2.67x11 / 16
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
1.51x2.21x11 / 16
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported4.55x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
-1.57x-2.07x5 / 8

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 40 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 14, 2026
MONTOYA MICHAEL F
Chief Technology Ops Officer
Open-market sale1,296$406.24$526.5K
Sep 14, 2026
MONTOYA MICHAEL F
Chief Technology Ops Officer
Open-market sale1,173$411.50$482.7K
Sep 14, 2026
MONTOYA MICHAEL F
Chief Technology Ops Officer
Open-market sale920$412.38$379.4K
Sep 14, 2026
MONTOYA MICHAEL F
Chief Technology Ops Officer
Open-market sale440$413.31$181.9K
Sep 14, 2026
MONTOYA MICHAEL F
Chief Technology Ops Officer
Open-market sale277$410.37$113.7K
Sep 14, 2026
MONTOYA MICHAEL F
Chief Technology Ops Officer
Open-market sale240$408.96$98.2K
Sep 14, 2026
Maddison John Anthony
Chief Product Mkting Officer
Open-market sale204$406.24$82.9K
Sep 14, 2026
MONTOYA MICHAEL F
Chief Technology Ops Officer
Open-market sale80$414.18$33.1K
Sep 1, 2026
OKEKE ANGELIQUE M
EVP, General Counsel
Grant or award(derivative)3,002$0.00$0.00
Aug 5, 2026
FOUNTAIN THOMAS DEAN
EVP Global Services & Strategy
Open-market sale1,208$414.63$500.9K
Aug 5, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Open-market sale1,100$410.94$452.0K
Aug 5, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Open-market sale996$412.90$411.2K
Aug 5, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Open-market sale642$411.82$264.4K
Aug 5, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Open-market sale320$414.10$132.5K
Aug 5, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Open-market sale284$415.03$117.9K
Aug 5, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Open-market sale200$415.97$83.2K
Aug 5, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Open-market sale200$409.68$81.9K
Aug 5, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Open-market sale40$416.83$16.7K
Aug 3, 2026
Maddison John Anthony
Chief Product Mkting Officer
Open-market sale1,000$405.85$405.9K
Aug 3, 2026
WHALEN CHAD MICHAEL
EVP, Worldwide Sales
Open-market sale703$404.86$284.6K
Aug 3, 2026
Werner Edward Cooper
Chief Financial Officer
Open-market sale599$405.92$243.1K
Aug 3, 2026
OKEKE ANGELIQUE M
EVP, General Counsel
Open-market sale515$404.49$208.3K
Aug 3, 2026
ANAND KUNAL
Chief Technology Officer
Open-market sale392$404.63$158.6K
Aug 3, 2026
Peterman Catherine A
Chief People Officer
Grant or award(derivative)8,618$0.00$0.00
Aug 1, 2026
Locoh-Donou Francois
President, CEO & Director
Withheld for tax2,451$402.57$986.7K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$3.09B$2.82B$2.81B$2.70B$2.60B$2.35B$2.24B$2.16B$2.09B$2.00B
Gross profit$2.51B$2.26B$2.22B$2.16B$2.11B$1.94B$1.89B$1.80B$1.74B$1.66B
Operating income$765.95M$658.59M$472.57M$403.79M$394.02M$392.27M$518.46M$590.90M$563.96M$547.38M
Net income$692.38M$566.78M$394.95M$322.16M$331.24M$307.44M$427.73M$453.69M$420.76M$365.86M
EPS (diluted)$11.80$9.55$6.55$5.27$5.34$5.01$7.08$7.32$6.50$5.38
Operating cash flow$949.67M$792.42M$653.41M$442.63M$645.20M$660.90M$747.84M$761.07M$740.28M$711.53M
Capital expenditure$43.26M$30.41M$54.18M$33.62M$30.65M$59.94M$103.54M$53.47M$38.68M$63.49M
Free cash flow$906.41M$762.01M$599.23M$409.01M$614.54M$600.96M$644.30M$707.60M$701.60M$648.05M
Total assets$6.32B$5.61B$5.25B$5.28B$5.00B$4.68B$3.39B$2.61B$2.48B$2.31B
Shareholder equity$3.59B$3.13B$2.80B$2.47B$2.36B$2.23B$1.76B$1.29B$1.23B$1.19B
Total debt——$0.00$349.77M$369.05M$388.32M$0.00———
Cash$1.34B$1.07B$797.16M$758.01M$580.98M$849.56M$599.22M$424.71M$673.23M$514.57M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from F5, INC.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Nov 25, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.