DGICA
DONEGAL GROUP INCDONEGAL GROUP INC reported revenue of $978.01M in its most recent fiscal year, down 1.2% on the year before. It kept 8.1% of that as net income. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Fire, Marine & Casualty Insurance.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | -1.2% | 7.8% | 49 / 57 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 4.9% | 11.3% | 43 / 53 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 4.7% | 8.6% | 38 / 49 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | Not reported | 31.1% | — |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | 34.6% | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | 18.9% | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | Not reported | 12.0% | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | 17.6% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | Not reported | — | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 13.6% | — |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 8.1% | 12.0% | 45 / 57 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | Not reported | 18.7% | — |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 12.4% | 14.2% | 34 / 57 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 3.3% | 3.7% | 32 / 57 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | Not reported | 18.4% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Insider activity
Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. 22 of the last 40 reported transactions were open-market purchases; the rest are mostly sales and compensation.
| Date | Insider | Transaction | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 11, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 45,000 | $19.23 | $865.2K |
| Sep 11, 2026 | BURKE KEVIN GERARD President & Chief Exec Officer | Open-market sale | 24,000 | $19.23 | $461.4K |
| Sep 11, 2026 | MILLER JEFFREY DEAN EVP & Chief Financial Officer | Open-market sale | 21,000 | $19.23 | $403.7K |
| Sep 11, 2026 | BURKE KEVIN GERARD President & Chief Exec Officer | Option exercise(derivative) | 24,000 | $14.39 | $345.4K |
| Sep 11, 2026 | BURKE KEVIN GERARD President & Chief Exec Officer | Option exercise | 24,000 | $14.39 | $345.4K |
| Sep 11, 2026 | MILLER JEFFREY DEAN EVP & Chief Financial Officer | Option exercise | 21,000 | $14.39 | $302.2K |
| Sep 11, 2026 | MILLER JEFFREY DEAN EVP & Chief Financial Officer | Option exercise(derivative) | 21,000 | $14.39 | $302.2K |
| Sep 11, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 9,725 | $19.25 | $187.2K |
| Sep 10, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 10,000 | $19.13 | $191.3K |
| Sep 9, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 8,326 | $19.28 | $160.5K |
| Sep 9, 2026 | BAWEL DAVID BENJAMIN SVP & CHIEF ACCOUNTING OFFICER | Open-market sale | 8,326 | $19.28 | $160.5K |
| Sep 9, 2026 | BAWEL DAVID BENJAMIN SVP & CHIEF ACCOUNTING OFFICER | Option exercise | 8,326 | $14.39 | $119.8K |
| Sep 9, 2026 | BAWEL DAVID BENJAMIN SVP & CHIEF ACCOUNTING OFFICER | Option exercise(derivative) | 8,326 | $14.39 | $119.8K |
| Sep 9, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 5,143 | $18.89 | $97.1K |
| Sep 8, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 10,000 | $19.14 | $191.4K |
| Sep 4, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 6,368 | $19.39 | $123.5K |
| Sep 3, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 9,595 | $19.53 | $187.4K |
| Sep 3, 2026 | HUBER BARRY CRAIG Director | Open-market sale | 4,500 | $19.43 | $87.4K |
| Sep 3, 2026 | HUBER BARRY CRAIG Director | Option exercise | 4,500 | $14.09 | $63.4K |
| Sep 3, 2026 | HUBER BARRY CRAIG Director | Option exercise(derivative) | 4,500 | $14.09 | $63.4K |
| Sep 3, 2026 | VIOZZI VINCENT ANTHONY Sr. VP & Chief Inv Officer | Open-market sale | 2,282 | $19.50 | $44.5K |
| Sep 2, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 10,000 | $19.43 | $194.3K |
| Sep 1, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 9,257 | $19.17 | $177.4K |
| Aug 31, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 10,000 | $19.18 | $191.8K |
| Aug 28, 2026 | DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE CO 10% owner | Open-market purchase | 10,000 | $19.19 | $191.9K |
A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $978.01M | $989.61M | $927.34M | $848.22M | $816.47M | $777.82M | $812.45M | $771.83M | $739.03M | $688.42M |
| Net income | $79.34M | $50.86M | $4.43M | -$1.96M | $25.25M | $52.82M | $47.15M | -$32.76M | $7.12M | $30.80M |
| Operating cash flow | $70.20M | $67.44M | $28.62M | $67.11M | $76.73M | $101.13M | $76.36M | $63.78M | $81.00M | $60.03M |
| Total assets | $2.39B | $2.34B | $2.27B | $2.24B | $2.26B | $2.16B | $1.92B | $1.83B | $1.74B | $1.62B |
| Shareholder equity | $640.42M | $545.78M | $479.75M | $483.59M | $531.04M | $517.77M | $451.02M | $398.87M | $448.70M | $438.62M |
| Cash | $26.79M | $52.93M | $23.79M | $25.12M | $57.71M | $103.09M | $49.32M | $52.59M | $37.83M | $24.59M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Source
Figures come from DONEGAL GROUP INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Mar 6, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.