CAE
CAE INCCAE INC reported revenue of CAD 4.71B in its most recent fiscal year, up 9.9% on the year before. It kept 8.8% of that as net income, and generated CAD 540.30M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Miscellaneous Electrical Machinery, Equipment & Supplies.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 9.9% | 3.7% | 16 / 33 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 11.8% | 8.7% | 13 / 31 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 5.4% | 18.7% | 20 / 24 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | Not reported | -27.3% | — |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | 127.9% | -38.8% | 3 / 10 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 54.7% | 34.7% | 2 / 5 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 27.6% | 24.1% | 12 / 31 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 15.5% | -39.5% | 1 / 29 |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 8.8% | -51.1% | 1 / 32 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 11.5% | -16.0% | 3 / 26 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 8.3% | -33.9% | 4 / 26 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 3.7% | -27.1% | 4 / 34 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 7.2% | -36.3% | 4 / 25 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.70x | 0.56x | 13 / 20 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 0.80x | 1.58x | 28 / 33 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 0.58x | 1.13x | 27 / 33 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 3.08x | -5.65x | 3 / 21 |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | 2.78x | 1.24x | 7 / 7 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | CAD 4.71B | CAD 4.28B | CAD 4.01B | CAD 3.37B | CAD 2.98B | CAD 3.62B | CAD 3.30B | CAD 2.82B | CAD 2.70B |
| Gross profit | CAD 1.30B | CAD 1.15B | CAD 1.08B | CAD 955.50M | CAD 765.00M | CAD 1.08B | CAD 941.50M | CAD 877.90M | CAD 811.20M |
| Operating income | CAD 729.20M | -CAD 185.40M | CAD 466.00M | CAD 284.20M | CAD 48.40M | CAD 537.10M | CAD 480.60M | CAD 462.80M | CAD 364.70M |
| Net income | CAD 415.00M | -CAD 296.30M | CAD 231.90M | CAD 150.00M | -CAD 47.50M | CAD 318.90M | CAD 340.10M | CAD 354.70M | CAD 256.60M |
| Operating cash flow | CAD 896.50M | CAD 566.90M | CAD 408.40M | CAD 418.20M | CAD 366.60M | CAD 545.10M | CAD 530.40M | CAD 403.30M | CAD 464.30M |
| Capital expenditure | CAD 356.20M | CAD 329.80M | CAD 268.80M | CAD 272.20M | CAD 107.60M | CAD 283.40M | CAD 251.80M | CAD 173.90M | CAD 222.90M |
| Free cash flow | CAD 540.30M | CAD 237.10M | CAD 139.60M | CAD 146.00M | CAD 259.00M | CAD 261.70M | CAD 278.60M | CAD 229.40M | CAD 241.40M |
| Total assets | CAD 11.21B | CAD 9.83B | CAD 10.44B | CAD 9.58B | CAD 8.75B | CAD 8.48B | CAD 7.17B | CAD 5.78B | CAD 5.40B |
| Shareholder equity | CAD 4.98B | CAD 4.30B | CAD 4.59B | CAD 4.09B | CAD 3.21B | CAD 2.58B | CAD 2.38B | CAD 2.30B | CAD 2.01B |
| Total debt | CAD 3.47B | CAD 3.07B | CAD 3.25B | CAD 3.05B | CAD 2.35B | CAD 3.31B | CAD 2.33B | CAD 1.26B | CAD 1.26B |
| Cash | CAD 293.70M | CAD 160.10M | CAD 217.60M | CAD 346.10M | CAD 926.10M | CAD 946.50M | CAD 446.10M | CAD 611.50M | CAD 504.70M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in CAD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from CAE INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 40-F filed Jun 20, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.