Lodestar

BSY

BENTLEY SYSTEMS INC
NasdaqServices-Prepackaged SoftwareLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

BENTLEY SYSTEMS INC reported revenue of $1.50B in its most recent fiscal year, up 11.0% on the year before. It kept 18.5% of that as net income, and generated $520.21M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Services-Prepackaged Software.

Grades vs. industry

Growth
C47/100
Ranked against 43 peers using 8 metrics.
Profitability
A84/100
Ranked against 166 peers using 7 metrics.
Financial health
D30/100
Ranked against 84 peers using 4 metrics.
Dividend coverage
C46/100
Ranked against 7 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
11.0%13.3%115 / 197
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
11.0%12.1%95 / 178
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
13.4%16.4%105 / 164
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
18.1%14.0%39 / 83
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
15.6%21.5%31 / 48
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
15.1%13.5%19 / 43
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
23.5%21.8%61 / 132
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
26.7%24.3%44 / 92

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
81.5%71.0%28 / 182
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
24.1%-0.0%24 / 194
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
18.5%0.0%34 / 198
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
34.6%16.9%16 / 183
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
23.4%0.5%27 / 184
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
7.8%-0.1%44 / 200
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
12.4%0.4%38 / 166

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
1.05x0.28x66 / 84
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
0.56x1.68x191 / 200
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
0.56x1.67x190 / 200
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
47.83x0.21x13 / 113
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported-1.43x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Dividend coverage

Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Dividend payout ratio
Dividends paid as a share of net income.
30.6%32.0%6 / 16
Dividend / free cash flow
Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test.
16.3%24.3%6 / 16
Dividend growth (5y)
Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years.
-29.6%10.2%7 / 7

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Dividend record

What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.

Years paying
8
since 2020 in this data
Consecutive increases
3 years
through 2025
Reductions
1
verified against dollars paid
Latest per share
$0.28
fiscal 2025

Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 19 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 29, 2026
Bentley Barry J.
Director, 10% owner
Grant or award3$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
BENTLEY GREGORY S
Executive Chair & President
Grant or award3,691$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Bentley Keith A.
Director, 10% owner
Grant or award1,033$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Shaman David R.
Chief Legal Officer
Grant or award469$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Griswold Kirk B.
Director
Grant or award85$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Lee James K
Chief Operating Officer
Grant or award402$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Moutte Julien
Chief Technology Officer
Grant or award106$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Cumins Nicholas
Chief Executive Officer
Grant or award737$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Rahden Andrew
Chief Revenue Officer
Grant or award174$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Bentley Raymond B.
Director, 10% owner
Grant or award2,044$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Trimback Thomas F
Chief Accounting Officer
Grant or award23$0.00$0.00
Sep 29, 2026
Andre Werner
Chief Financial Officer
Grant or award199$0.00$0.00
Aug 31, 2026
Shaman David R.
Chief Legal Officer
Withheld for tax6,665$36.75$244.9K
Aug 27, 2026
BENTLEY GREGORY S
Executive Chair & President
Gift13,192$0.00$0.00
Aug 12, 2026
BENTLEY GREGORY S
Executive Chair & President
Gift703$0.00$0.00
Aug 12, 2026
BENTLEY GREGORY S
Executive Chair & President
Gift281$0.00$0.00
Aug 2, 2026
Shaman David R.
Chief Legal Officer
Withheld for tax1,040$35.68$37.1K
Jul 23, 2026
BENTLEY GREGORY S
Executive Chair & President
Grant or award61,037$30.12$1.84M
Jul 23, 2026
BENTLEY GREGORY S
Executive Chair & President
Withheld for tax26,698$30.12$804.1K

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year20252024202320222021202020192018
Revenue$1.50B$1.35B$1.23B$1.10B$965.05M$801.54M$734.85M$691.71M
Gross profit$1.22B$1.10B$962.33M$862.07M$748.51M$634.39M$592.50M$560.39M
Operating income$362.62M$302.15M$230.54M$208.61M$94.59M$150.15M$141.87M$121.39M
Net income$277.86M$234.79M$326.79M$174.78M$93.19M$126.52M$103.10M$142.11M
EPS (diluted)$0.85$0.72$1.00$0.55$0.30$0.42$0.35$0.49
Operating cash flow$538.46M$435.29M$416.70M$274.32M$288.02M$258.34M$170.77M$161.47M
Capital expenditure$18.25M$14.05M$25.00M$18.55M$17.54M$16.45M$16.64M$18.62M
Free cash flow$520.21M$421.25M$391.69M$255.78M$270.49M$241.89M$154.13M$142.85M
Total assets$3.56B$3.40B$3.32B$3.17B$2.66B$1.13B$994.60M—
Shareholder equity$1.19B$1.04B$883.28M$573.45M$409.22M$341.60M$334.62M$147.43M
Total debt$1.25B$1.39B$1.53B$1.78B$1.44B$246.00M$233.75M—
Cash$123.28M$64.01M$68.41M$71.68M$329.34M$122.01M$121.10M$81.18M
Dividends per share$0.28$0.24$0.20$0.12$0.12$1.62$0.10$0.08

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from BENTLEY SYSTEMS INC’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 26, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.