BAK
BRASKEM SABRASKEM SA reported revenue of BRL 77.41B in its most recent fiscal year, up 9.7% on the year before. It kept -15.6% of that as net income, and generated -BRL 1.33B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Industrial Organic Chemicals.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 9.7% | -4.9% | 4 / 19 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | -9.8% | -9.8% | 10 / 19 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 8.1% | 3.9% | 6 / 18 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | Not reported | -108.7% | — |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | — | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | Not reported | -60.8% | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | 2.9% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | 7.7% | 18.6% | 11 / 17 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | -1.4% | -8.0% | 7 / 18 |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | -15.6% | -13.5% | 11 / 19 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | -1.7% | -1.7% | 10 / 19 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | Not reported | -7.3% | — |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | -11.9% | -7.6% | 13 / 19 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | -2.5% | -4.2% | 7 / 16 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | Not reported | 0.59x | — |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 1.31x | 2.24x | 18 / 19 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 0.83x | 1.58x | 17 / 19 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | -0.16x | -0.87x | 6 / 16 |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | 2.65x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | BRL 77.41B | BRL 70.57B | BRL 96.52B | BRL 105.63B | BRL 58.54B | BRL 52.32B | BRL 58.00B | BRL 49.26B | BRL 47.66B | BRL 46.88B |
| Gross profit | BRL 6.00B | BRL 3.02B | BRL 11.36B | BRL 32.06B | BRL 11.21B | BRL 6.44B | BRL 11.42B | BRL 13.08B | BRL 12.68B | BRL 10.18B |
| Operating income | -BRL 1.08B | -BRL 2.79B | BRL 4.27B | BRL 26.04B | -BRL 71.89M | BRL 153.68M | BRL 8.28B | BRL 9.21B | BRL 5.95B | BRL 6.89B |
| Net income | -BRL 12.05B | -BRL 4.89B | -BRL 821.00M | BRL 13.96B | -BRL 7.02B | -BRL 2.64B | BRL 2.87B | BRL 3.92B | -BRL 729.20M | BRL 2.76B |
| EPS (diluted) | — | — | — | BRL 17.57 | -BRL 8.41 | -BRL 3.19 | — | — | — | — |
| Operating cash flow | BRL 2.44B | -BRL 2.27B | BRL 8.95B | BRL 14.79B | BRL 6.29B | BRL 2.27B | BRL 9.25B | BRL 2.46B | BRL 4.46B | BRL 7.09B |
| Capital expenditure | BRL 3.76B | BRL 4.53B | BRL 4.85B | BRL 3.42B | BRL 2.76B | BRL 2.68B | BRL 2.71B | BRL 2.27B | BRL 2.59B | BRL 3.34B |
| Free cash flow | -BRL 1.33B | -BRL 6.80B | BRL 4.10B | BRL 11.37B | BRL 3.53B | -BRL 417.25M | BRL 6.54B | BRL 188.42M | BRL 1.87B | BRL 3.75B |
| Total assets | BRL 101.58B | BRL 91.74B | BRL 88.05B | BRL 92.56B | BRL 86.08B | BRL 68.13B | BRL 58.81B | BRL 52.73B | BRL 51.82B | — |
| Shareholder equity | -BRL 4.28B | BRL 3.28B | BRL 6.11B | BRL 6.21B | -BRL 3.87B | BRL 3.94B | BRL 5.65B | BRL 5.47B | BRL 1.72B | BRL 945.49M |
| Total debt | BRL 53.23B | BRL 42.24B | BRL 35.72B | BRL 34.90B | BRL 41.73B | BRL 29.02B | BRL 24.90B | BRL 23.36B | BRL 23.33B | — |
| Cash | BRL 14.99B | BRL 14.19B | BRL 12.47B | BRL 8.68B | BRL 13.86B | BRL 6.80B | BRL 5.55B | BRL 3.78B | BRL 6.70B | BRL 7.04B |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in BRL, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from BRASKEM SA’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 20-F filed Mar 31, 2025. View filings on EDGAR.