Lodestar

AXSM

Axsome Therapeutics, Inc.
NasdaqPharmaceutical PreparationsLatest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

Axsome Therapeutics, Inc. reported revenue of $638.50M in its most recent fiscal year, up 65.5% on the year before. It kept -28.7% of that as net income, and generated -$93.89M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Pharmaceutical Preparations.

Grades vs. industry

Profitability
C47/100
Ranked against 156 peers using 5 metrics.
Financial health
F14/100
Ranked against 108 peers using 3 metrics.

Growth

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Revenue growth (YoY)
Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before.
65.5%7.4%44 / 219
Revenue growth (3y)
Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported7.6%—
Revenue growth (5y)
Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported7.3%—
EPS growth (YoY)
Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year.
Not reported-33.3%—
EPS growth (3y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported4.0%—
EPS growth (5y)
Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years.
Not reported3.8%—
Free cash flow growth (YoY)
Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year.
Not reported-7.9%—
Free cash flow growth (3y)
Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years.
Not reported1.4%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported72.1%—
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
-26.1%-34.2%74 / 163
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
-28.7%-30.0%86 / 173
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
-14.7%-15.3%77 / 156
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
-207.5%-52.3%320 / 368
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
-26.6%-37.6%157 / 419
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported-49.3%—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
2.13x0.24x98 / 108
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
1.55x4.17x354 / 419
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
1.48x3.84x346 / 419
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported-15.21x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported-1.56x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 9 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 3, 2026
Jacobson Mark L.
Chief Operating Officer
Open-market sale10,000$208.65$2.09M
Sep 3, 2026
Jacobson Mark L.
Chief Operating Officer
Option exercise10,000$12.95$129.5K
Sep 3, 2026
Jacobson Mark L.
Chief Operating Officer
Option exercise(derivative)10,000$0.00$0.00
Aug 6, 2026
TABUTEAU HERRIOT
Chief Executive Officer
Open-market sale4,660$213.95$997.0K
Aug 6, 2026
TABUTEAU HERRIOT
Chief Executive Officer
Option exercise4,660$4.95$23.1K
Aug 6, 2026
TABUTEAU HERRIOT
Chief Executive Officer
Option exercise(derivative)4,660$0.00$0.00
Aug 5, 2026
TABUTEAU HERRIOT
Chief Executive Officer
Open-market sale45,004$212.01$9.54M
Aug 5, 2026
TABUTEAU HERRIOT
Chief Executive Officer
Option exercise45,004$4.95$222.8K
Aug 5, 2026
TABUTEAU HERRIOT
Chief Executive Officer
Option exercise(derivative)45,004$0.00$0.00

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Revenue$638.50M$385.69M$270.60M$0.00——————
Operating income-$166.76M-$280.56M-$231.82M-$179.80M-$124.71M-$99.14M-$67.25M-$32.85M-$27.16M-$27.54M
Net income-$183.17M-$287.22M-$239.24M-$187.13M-$130.40M-$102.90M-$68.35M-$30.97M-$28.94M-$27.20M
EPS (diluted)-$3.68-$5.99-$5.27-$4.60-$3.47-$2.77-$2.01-$1.15-$1.27-$1.42
Operating cash flow-$93.41M-$128.41M-$145.08M-$116.51M-$108.23M-$78.46M-$46.38M-$30.05M-$26.47M-$21.28M
Capital expenditure$480.0K$270.0K$582.0K$702.0K$308.0K$45.9K$16.1K$32.7K$9.9K$104.6K
Free cash flow-$93.89M-$128.68M-$145.66M-$117.21M-$108.53M-$78.50M-$46.39M-$30.09M-$26.48M-$21.39M
Total assets$689.80M$568.50M$588.24M$331.48M$87.79M$186.13M$220.55M$15.38M$35.56M$38.21M
Shareholder equity$88.30M$57.02M$190.98M$109.56M$15.63M$113.79M$178.72M$937.9K$16.72M$21.57M
Total debt$187.75M$180.71M$178.07M$94.26M$49.09M$48.32M$19.93M$6.91M$9.93M$9.74M
Cash$322.93M$315.35M$386.19M$200.84M$86.47M$183.88M$219.97M$13.97M$34.02M$36.62M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from Axsome Therapeutics, Inc.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 23, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.