Lodestar

AVXL

ANAVEX LIFE SCIENCES CORP.
NasdaqBiological Products, (No Diagnostic Substances)Latest fiscal year ended Sep 30, 2025

Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Biological Products, (No Diagnostic Substances).

Grades vs. industry

No grades. This company reported an operating loss several times its revenue, so it is treated as pre-commercial and left out of industry comparisons — margins and returns measured against a revenue that barely exists describe a research programme rather than a business. Its reported figures appear in full below.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported74.3%—
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported-19.1%—
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
Not reported-17.7%—
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
Not reported-22.3%—
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
-48.9%-16.5%—
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
-44.7%-8.0%—
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
Not reported-13.0%—

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Nothing here is ranked: this company reported an operating loss several times its revenue, so it is left out of its industry’s comparisons and does not count toward the medians shown. Its own figures are exactly as filed.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 4 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 24, 2026
Boenisch Sandra
PFO & Treasurer
Grant or award(derivative)20,000$0.00$0.00
Sep 24, 2026
Boenisch Sandra
PFO & Treasurer
Grant or award(derivative)25,000$0.00$0.00
Sep 24, 2026
Boenisch Sandra
PFO & Treasurer
Grant or award(derivative)25,000$0.00$0.00
Sep 24, 2026
Boenisch Sandra
PFO & Treasurer
Grant or award(derivative)25,000$0.00$0.00

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year2025202420232022202120202019201820172016
Operating income-$51.41M-$52.88M-$55.76M-$50.99M-$42.00M-$31.09M————
Net income-$46.38M-$43.00M-$47.51M-$47.98M-$37.91M-$26.28M-$26.29M-$17.25M-$13.46M-$14.74M
EPS (diluted)-$0.54-$0.52-$0.60-$0.62-$0.54-$0.45-$0.54-$0.39-$0.33-$0.42
Operating cash flow-$39.04M-$30.81M-$27.79M-$24.24M-$30.38M-$21.29M-$18.53M-$12.58M-$9.02M-$9.24M
Total assets$103.81M$135.57M$154.39M$152.71M$161.62M$34.54M$25.33M$26.21M$27.84M$9.50M
Shareholder equity$94.87M$120.26M$141.85M$142.49M$150.82M$27.24M$20.29M$22.32M$25.88M$6.31M
Cash$102.58M$132.19M$151.02M$149.16M$152.11M$29.25M$22.19M$22.93M$27.44M$9.19M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

Source

Figures come from ANAVEX LIFE SCIENCES CORP.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K/A filed Aug 28, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.