Lodestar

AURA

Aura Biosciences, Inc.
NasdaqBiological Products, (No Diagnostic Substances)Latest fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2025

Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Biological Products, (No Diagnostic Substances).

Grades vs. industry

Profitability
D31/100
Ranked against 74 peers using 3 metrics.

Profitability

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Gross margin
Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported.
Not reported66.5%—
Operating margin
Operating income as a share of revenue.
Not reported-94.6%—
Net margin
Net income as a share of revenue.
Not reported-26.5%—
Free cash flow margin
Free cash flow as a share of revenue.
Not reported-74.1%—
Return on equity
Net income divided by shareholder equity.
-77.6%-55.7%75 / 110
Return on assets
Net income divided by total assets.
-62.7%-43.7%91 / 137
Return on invested capital
After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash.
-115.1%-59.5%54 / 74

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Financial health

MetricCompanyIndustry medianRank
Debt to equity
Total debt divided by shareholder equity.
Not reported0.29x—
Current ratio
Current assets over current liabilities.
8.15x5.03x40 / 137
Quick ratio
Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities.
8.15x4.84x38 / 137
Interest coverage
Operating income divided by interest expense.
Not reported-12.13x—
Net debt to EBITDA
Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed.
Not reported-1.02x—

top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.

“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.

Insider activity

Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 10 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.

DateInsiderTransactionSharesPriceValue
Sep 1, 2026
Person Julie
Chief People Officer
Grant or award107,611$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Person Julie
Chief People Officer
Grant or award(derivative)212,389$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Hopkins Janet Jill
Chief Medical Officer
Grant or award58,850$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Hopkins Janet Jill
Chief Medical Officer
Grant or award(derivative)116,150$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Elazzouzi Amy
SVP, Finance & PAO
Grant or award23,540$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Elazzouzi Amy
SVP, Finance & PAO
Grant or award(derivative)46,460$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Abu-Absi Susan
Chief Operating Officer
Grant or award134,513$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Abu-Absi Susan
Chief Operating Officer
Grant or award(derivative)265,487$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Kratz Erica
Chief Reg. & Quality Officer
Grant or award100,885$0.00$0.00
Sep 1, 2026
Kratz Erica
Chief Reg. & Quality Officer
Grant or award(derivative)199,115$0.00$0.00

A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.

Annual financials

Fiscal year202520242023202220212020
Operating income-$112.79M-$96.12M-$84.99M-$60.30M-$35.25M-$22.21M
Net income-$106.19M-$86.92M-$76.41M-$58.76M-$35.25M-$22.21M
EPS (diluted)-$1.76-$1.75-$1.93-$1.96n/cn/c
Operating cash flow-$84.74M-$79.81M-$63.85M-$54.60M-$32.41M-$24.32M
Capital expenditure$447.0K$1.25M$709.0K$1.09M$2.13M$771.0K
Free cash flow-$85.19M-$81.06M-$64.56M-$55.70M-$34.53M-$25.09M
Total assets$169.43M$182.50M$255.07M$223.94M$160.03M$22.10M
Shareholder equity$136.91M$151.97M$225.85M$195.58M$152.31M-$108.71M
Cash$59.52M$31.69M$41.06M$121.58M$149.06M$17.39M

A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.

n/c marks per-share figures that are not comparable. Companies report each year as their filings stated it, and an annual report restates only its two prior years — so after a stock split, older years remain on the pre-split share count. Totals above are unaffected.

Source

Figures come from Aura Biosciences, Inc.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Mar 30, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.

Not financial advice. This page presents figures reported to the SEC and compares them with other companies sharing an industry classification. It is not a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and the grades cannot capture everything that matters about a business. Industry classifications are coarse, filings are self-reported, and some figures are missing or understated where companies tag them in ways this site does not match. Do your own research.