ASTL
Algoma Steel Group Inc.Algoma Steel Group Inc. reported revenue of CAD 2.09B in its most recent fiscal year, down 25.4% on the year before. It kept -47.2% of that as net income, and generated -CAD 394.60M of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Steel Works, Blast Furnaces & Rolling Mills (Coke Ovens).
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | -25.4% | -1.7% | 13 / 13 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | -18.2% | -4.5% | 13 / 13 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 1.3% | 6.9% | 12 / 13 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | -1394.3% | -18.8% | 9 / 9 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | -27.4% | — |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | Not reported | 11.6% | — |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | Not reported | -8.7% | — |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | Not reported | -27.1% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | -31.9% | 13.5% | 12 / 12 |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | -63.6% | 4.5% | 9 / 9 |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | -47.2% | 5.3% | 13 / 13 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | -18.9% | 0.8% | 13 / 13 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | -200.5% | 5.7% | 13 / 13 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | -46.5% | 3.3% | 13 / 13 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | -116.7% | 2.1% | 9 / 9 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 0.99x | 0.38x | 10 / 12 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 2.18x | 2.34x | 9 / 13 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 1.03x | 1.31x | 11 / 13 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | -18.39x | 3.29x | 9 / 9 |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | Not reported | 1.84x | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | CAD 2.09B | CAD 2.80B | CAD 2.78B | CAD 3.81B | CAD 1.79B | CAD 1.96B |
| Operating income | -CAD 1.33B | CAD 167.30M | CAD 290.50M | CAD 1.41B | CAD 84.80M | -CAD 137.00M |
| Net income | -CAD 984.90M | CAD 105.20M | CAD 298.50M | CAD 857.70M | -CAD 76.10M | -CAD 175.90M |
| EPS (diluted) | -CAD 9.06 | CAD 0.70 | CAD 1.71 | CAD 7.75 | -CAD 1.06 | -CAD 2.46 |
| Operating cash flow | -CAD 66.10M | CAD 294.90M | CAD 177.30M | CAD 1.26B | CAD 8.10M | -CAD 4.70M |
| Capital expenditure | CAD 328.50M | CAD 490.10M | CAD 371.10M | CAD 166.20M | CAD 71.70M | CAD 113.30M |
| Free cash flow | -CAD 394.60M | -CAD 195.20M | -CAD 193.80M | CAD 1.10B | -CAD 63.60M | -CAD 118.00M |
| Total assets | CAD 2.12B | CAD 2.68B | CAD 2.46B | CAD 2.69B | CAD 1.55B | — |
| Shareholder equity | CAD 491.10M | CAD 1.50B | CAD 1.46B | CAD 1.58B | CAD 173.80M | CAD 299.90M |
| Total debt | CAD 483.80M | CAD 0.00 | — | — | — | — |
| Cash | CAD 77.50M | CAD 97.90M | CAD 247.40M | CAD 915.30M | CAD 21.20M | CAD 265.00M |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Amounts are in CAD, as the company reports them. Nothing here is converted to dollars, so these figures cannot be compared directly against a company reporting in another currency. Margins, returns and other ratios are unaffected.
Source
Figures come from Algoma Steel Group Inc.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 40-F filed Mar 12, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.