MMC
MARSH & MCLENNAN COMPANIES, INC.MARSH & MCLENNAN COMPANIES, INC. reported revenue of $26.98B in its most recent fiscal year, up 10.3% on the year before. It kept 15.4% of that as net income, and generated $5.00B of free cash flow. Figures below are compared against other companies classified under Insurance Agents, Brokers & Service.
Grades vs. industry
Growth
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue growth (YoY) Latest fiscal year revenue vs. the year before. | 10.3% | 16.7% | 17 / 30 |
Revenue growth (3y) Annualized revenue growth over three fiscal years. | 9.2% | 11.2% | 17 / 25 |
Revenue growth (5y) Annualized revenue growth over five fiscal years. | 9.4% | 9.3% | 10 / 20 |
EPS growth (YoY) Diluted EPS vs. the prior fiscal year. | 3.1% | 3.2% | 9 / 16 |
EPS growth (3y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over three fiscal years. | 11.8% | 11.8% | 5 / 9 |
EPS growth (5y) Annualized diluted EPS growth over five fiscal years. | 16.4% | 14.9% | 1 / 8 |
Free cash flow growth (YoY) Operating cash flow less capital expenditure, vs. prior year. | 25.5% | 22.0% | 4 / 16 |
Free cash flow growth (3y) Annualized free cash flow growth over three fiscal years. | 18.6% | 24.5% | 8 / 12 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Profitability
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Gross margin Gross profit as a share of revenue. Often unreported. | Not reported | 42.2% | — |
Operating margin Operating income as a share of revenue. | 23.1% | 10.7% | 3 / 20 |
Net margin Net income as a share of revenue. | 15.4% | 7.4% | 9 / 30 |
Free cash flow margin Free cash flow as a share of revenue. | 18.5% | 11.5% | 7 / 23 |
Return on equity Net income divided by shareholder equity. | 27.2% | 10.4% | 6 / 24 |
Return on assets Net income divided by total assets. | 7.1% | 4.8% | 11 / 29 |
Return on invested capital After-tax operating profit over debt plus equity less cash. | 14.8% | 8.5% | 4 / 15 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Financial health
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Debt to equity Total debt divided by shareholder equity. | 1.28x | 0.58x | 17 / 20 |
Current ratio Current assets over current liabilities. | 1.10x | 1.22x | 19 / 26 |
Quick ratio Current assets excluding inventory, over current liabilities. | 1.10x | 1.22x | 19 / 26 |
Interest coverage Operating income divided by interest expense. | 6.48x | 3.89x | 3 / 11 |
Net debt to EBITDA Net debt over derived EBITDA. EBITDA is not a GAAP tag; it is computed. | 2.57x | 0.52x | 9 / 13 |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Debt figures can be understated where a filer splits borrowings across XBRL tags this site does not match.
Dividend coverage
Measures how much of earnings and free cash flow the dividend consumes, against industry peers. A low grade means the dividend is less covered than peers' — not that a cut is expected. Long-established payers often score low here by design.
| Metric | Company | Industry median | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
Dividend payout ratio Dividends paid as a share of net income. | 40.8% | 38.5% | 8 / 13 |
Dividend / free cash flow Dividends paid as a share of free cash flow. The stricter test. | 34.0% | 26.5% | 8 / 12 |
Dividend growth (5y) Annualized growth in dividends per share over five years. | Not reported | 9.7% | — |
top third of peersmiddle thirdbottom third. Rank 1 is always best — for debt and payout ratios that means the lowest figure, not the highest.
“Not reported” means the company did not tag this figure in its filing, not that the value is zero. Rankings are hidden where fewer than 5 classified peers reported the metric, and compare against a broad industry code rather than close competitors.
Dividend record
What the dividend has actually done, not a prediction of what it will do. Changes are checked against total dollars paid so that stock splits are not mistaken for cuts.
Dividend history is limited to what companies have filed in machine-readable form, which generally begins around 2009. A company may have paid or raised its dividend for far longer than shown here.
Insider activity
Trades reported by officers, directors and 10% shareholders on SEC Form 4. None of the last 21 reported transactions were open-market purchases — grants, option exercises and sales make up the majority of insider filings at most companies.
| Date | Insider | Transaction | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 2, 2026 | Doyle John Q President and CEO | Open-market sale | 16,656 | $188.51 | $3.14M |
| Sep 2, 2026 | Doyle John Q President and CEO | Option exercise | 16,656 | $73.19 | $1.22M |
| Sep 2, 2026 | Brennan Katherine SVP and General Counsel | Open-market sale | 1,197 | $187.90 | $224.9K |
| Sep 2, 2026 | Brennan Katherine SVP and General Counsel | Option exercise | 1,197 | $83.05 | $99.4K |
| Sep 2, 2026 | Brennan Katherine SVP and General Counsel | Option exercise(derivative) | 1,197 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Sep 2, 2026 | Doyle John Q President and CEO | Option exercise(derivative) | 16,656 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Aug 15, 2026 | Yates Lloyd M Director | Grant or award(derivative) | 224 | $188.44 | $42.2K |
| Aug 15, 2026 | SCHAPIRO MORTON O Director | Grant or award(derivative) | 219 | $188.44 | $41.3K |
| Aug 15, 2026 | MILLS STEVEN A Director | Grant or award | 194 | $188.44 | $36.6K |
| Aug 15, 2026 | BROUSSARD BRUCE D Director | Grant or award | 192 | $188.44 | $36.2K |
| Aug 15, 2026 | Lute Jane H Director | Grant or award(derivative) | 144 | $188.44 | $27.2K |
| Aug 14, 2026 | SCHAPIRO MORTON O Director | Other(derivative) | 473 | $189.15 | $89.5K |
| Aug 14, 2026 | HOPKINS DEBORAH C Director | Other(derivative) | 112 | $189.15 | $21.2K |
| Aug 14, 2026 | Anderson Anthony Director | Other(derivative) | 89 | $189.15 | $16.9K |
| Aug 14, 2026 | Yates Lloyd M Director | Other(derivative) | 65 | $189.15 | $12.3K |
| Aug 14, 2026 | Ingram Tamara Director | Other(derivative) | 48 | $189.15 | $9.0K |
| Aug 14, 2026 | Lute Jane H Director | Other(derivative) | 47 | $189.15 | $8.8K |
| Aug 14, 2026 | Siegmund Jan Director | Other(derivative) | 12 | $189.15 | $2.3K |
| Aug 6, 2026 | Jones John Jude Chief Marketing Officer | Open-market sale | 6,500 | $191.96 | $1.25M |
| Jul 29, 2026 | Beswick Paul SVP, Chief Information Officer | Open-market sale | 713 | $198.00 | $141.2K |
| Jul 28, 2026 | South Martin Chief Client Officer | Open-market sale | 7,100 | $189.99 | $1.35M |
A dash under price or value means none was reported, which is normal for grants and gifts — it does not mean the shares were free. Option exercises and awards are compensation arriving on a schedule, not a judgement about the stock.
Annual financials
| Fiscal year | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $26.98B | $24.46B | $22.74B | $20.72B | $19.82B | $17.22B | $16.65B | $14.95B | $14.02B | $13.21B |
| Operating income | $6.22B | $5.82B | $5.28B | $4.28B | $4.31B | $3.07B | $2.68B | $2.76B | $2.65B | $2.43B |
| Net income | $4.16B | $4.06B | $3.76B | $3.05B | $3.14B | $2.02B | $1.74B | $1.65B | $1.49B | $1.77B |
| EPS (diluted) | $8.43 | $8.18 | $7.53 | $6.04 | $6.13 | $3.94 | $3.41 | $3.23 | $2.87 | $3.38 |
| Operating cash flow | $5.29B | $4.30B | $4.26B | $3.46B | $3.52B | $3.38B | $2.36B | $2.43B | $1.89B | $2.01B |
| Capital expenditure | $291.00M | $316.00M | $416.00M | $470.00M | $406.00M | $348.00M | $421.00M | $314.00M | $302.00M | $253.00M |
| Free cash flow | $5.00B | $3.99B | $3.84B | $3.00B | $3.11B | $3.03B | $1.94B | $2.11B | $1.59B | $1.75B |
| Total assets | $58.71B | $56.48B | $48.03B | $44.11B | $44.01B | $33.05B | $31.36B | $21.58B | $20.43B | $18.19B |
| Shareholder equity | $15.31B | $13.54B | $12.37B | $10.75B | $11.22B | $9.26B | $7.94B | $7.58B | $7.44B | $6.27B |
| Total debt | $19.59B | $19.95B | $13.46B | $11.49B | $10.95B | $11.31B | $11.96B | $5.82B | $5.49B | $4.81B |
| Cash | $2.69B | $2.40B | $3.36B | $1.44B | $1.75B | $2.09B | $1.16B | $1.07B | $1.21B | $1.03B |
| Dividends per share | $3.43 | $3.05 | $2.60 | $2.25 | — | — | — | — | — | — |
A dash means the figure was not tagged in that year’s filing. It does not mean zero. Figures reflect the most recent filing covering each period, so restated years show their restated values.
Source
Figures come from MARSH & MCLENNAN COMPANIES, INC.’s filings with the SEC, as submitted in XBRL. The most recent annual figures are from a 10-K filed Feb 9, 2026. View filings on EDGAR.